Author Topic: Bit of a newbie to Genealogy  (Read 5990 times)

Offline Darrenfromny

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Bit of a newbie to Genealogy
« on: Friday 16 June 06 11:14 BST (UK) »
Can someone help me please?

I'm a bit new to Genealogy (Well been doingit for about 6 months now) But was wondering how to put 'meat on the bones'. All I have at the moment are names and dates, and I have no idea where to start when finding a 'story' about my ancestors.

Thanks,

Darren

Offline Tees

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Bit of a newbie to Genealogy
« Reply #1 on: Friday 16 June 06 11:22 BST (UK) »
Hi Darren,

Welcome to the Rootschat!! The people here are great and helpful!!

Have you looked your ancestors up in the censuses yet?

It will help you to write a "story" even better on your family. :)

Regards,

Tees

Offline SooCatt

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Norman
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 16 June 06 11:25 BST (UK) »
Hi Darren
Finding out about their occupations is always good for background history and also if you can find photographs of the areas that they lived in from around the right era.  You'll be surprised how these little details can bring a family to life.

Welcome to Rootschat
 ;)

Susan
Crampton, Cook,  Bell, Pinkney, Curry, Duffey, Marshall, Smurthwaite, Urwin - Durham/North Yorks
Harrison - Northumberland
Rowland, Nicholson, Sneaton - Whitby
Athey, Ball, Lamb, Handley, Rymer, Duffey, Pool, Stringer, Wilkinson, Varley - West Yorks
Fisher - Essex

Cencus information is Crown Copyright, from "http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk"

Offline Darrenfromny

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Friday 16 June 06 11:27 BST (UK) »
Hello!

Thanks for the nice welcome.

Yes i've looked up their names on the census', and i've descovered several generations.

Just need to add more than just names and dates to my tree.

Offline Darcy