Author Topic: Irish/Scottish ancestry combined?  (Read 2868 times)

Offline kwr

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
Irish/Scottish ancestry combined?
« on: Monday 11 June 07 15:04 BST (UK) »
I'm new to this - first time I've posted so apologies if I do not make myself clear. I have several questions.
The IGI has a marriage between Hugh Caffie and Elizabeth Davidson on Dec. 11, 1856 at Kelton Kirkcudbrightshire. Scotlandspeople confirm the marriage, though put the date as Dec. 14th. neither here nor there as far as I'm concerned. I can find Hugh in every census afterwards but NOT with an Irish county of birth....

Father of the groom is Samuel Caffie and mother is Agnes Hastings.
Father of the bride is Thomas Davidson, mother Jane Gerrat.

I can find no trace of Samuel Caffie in the 1841 Scottish census nor of  his son Hugh. I presume then that he does not go to Scotland as his son does some time before 1856. In the IGI there is ONE reference to the birth of a Samuel Cafey 22 June 1800. His father is down as James Cafey. I can find no other details. So first question. How common is Caffey or Cafie or Cafey as an Irish name? I'd like to think that there is a link between  James, Samuel and Hugh but...there are Caffreys and other variations aren't there? In addition I have a supplementary question....

The IGI reference to Samuel's birthday is as follows:- Date is as above, 22 June 1800 followed by
Presbyterian, Kirkcubbin, Down, Ireland. This is my first Irish ancestor so does it mean he is a Presbyterian or what?