RootsChat.Com

General => Technical Help => Topic started by: mezentia on Sunday 27 January 13 22:08 GMT (UK)

Title: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: mezentia on Sunday 27 January 13 22:08 GMT (UK)
I read good reviews of Mobile Family Tree Pro for the iPad, and bought a copy. However, I'm having problems with the GEDCOM file I'm importing as it seems that no relationship information is being imported, so I have a tree of some 9800 separate individuals! Has anyone else used this app, and have you had similar problems? If so, did you ever get the app to work properly? The GEDCOM I'm importing was created by Family Historian, therefore supposedly 100% GEDCOM compliant.
Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: Maggie. on Monday 28 January 13 16:39 GMT (UK)
Hi mezentia,

I have an iPad mini and have recently loaded a GEDCOM of my Family Tree Maker tree onto it using Mobile Family Tree Pro. I'm still getting used to it but it seems to have loaded all my relationship information, notes and sources without any problem.  Every person is where they should be and correctly connected.  My initial opinion of it is positive. 

If I can help please let me know.

Maggie
Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: mezentia on Monday 28 January 13 19:32 GMT (UK)
Hi Maggie

You didn't say how big your Gedcom file was. I've submitted an error report to the authors, Synium (think that's right) with a copy of my GEDCOM file so they can try to reproduce the error.
Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: Maggie. on Monday 28 January 13 20:58 GMT (UK)
At 1,358 people and a GEDCOM of 1.76mb my file is much smaller than yours so perhaps herein lies the difficulty.

Hope it is sorted soon.
Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: [Ray] on Monday 28 January 13 21:04 GMT (UK)
Hi

You can check what actually went on the gedcom file by opening it in [say] notepad/wordpad/textpad/word/etc.

If the data is not on the file then it may not be a "real" gedcom file but a slight variation by FH.
If the relationship data is actually on the gedcom file then it probably is the app,
or the data may be there but with the wrong keyword.

Ray


Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: mezentia on Tuesday 29 January 13 07:56 GMT (UK)
I'm still waiting for the reply from Synium:  I agree it's probably the number of people/file size that's the problem. The file is definitely a GEDCOM file - I've had to make manual edits in a word processor before now!
Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: [Ray] on Wednesday 30 January 13 16:10 GMT (UK)
Hi

Synium say that they expect data to the specification of gedcom v5.5.1 [the "latest"]
How old is your version of FH? Does it actually put out version 5.5.1 or an earlier one [or indeed its own?]
Synium say they recognise v5.5.1 with "specification extensions" but must be a min spec of v5.5.1
(that presumably means they ignore unrecognised keywords]


As you are used to editting using a word "processor",  then why not . . . . .

1] check the file content to see if your data is actually on the file.
[You could post here an example of the data and the keyword(s)?]

2] produce a cut-down version of the gedcom file using say the first 100 people?
Then ensure it contains some detail that you know is missing and
Then import it.

Would you post the first 20 lines from the gedcom file you produced?

Cheers
Ray



 
Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: mezentia on Wednesday 30 January 13 17:44 GMT (UK)
Well, I deleted the database and re-imported the file I had previously downloaded, and I now have families! So I can only assume there was a glitch in reading the GEDCOM file at the first attempt. However, the app crashes out randomly, so is not really usable for long periods. It will do for my visit to WDYTYA Live.
Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: poirot on Saturday 18 May 13 18:07 BST (UK)
This thread is very interesting to me as I have just bought an IPAD and have been wondering if I can import my FTM files into it.

So after some enquires I have installed the app for Family Tree Maker Pro and am in the learning process.

Can you tell me if I can add FTM to the databases to import a GEDCOM file and how do I go about it. I already have Excel as a database and can't find how do delete it.

Cheers,
Poirot
Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: Maggie. on Saturday 18 May 13 20:05 BST (UK)
Hello poirot, I hope I can help.

First you need to save your FTM tree as a GEDCOM onto your desktop. Then attach your ipad to your PC and once iTunes has opened click on the name of your iPad in DEVICES, then click on 'Apps' (in banner across the top of page). This will open up all the apps you haven your ipad. At the bottom of this page is a list that should contain the Familytreemaker Pro app icon. Click on this icon and there is an ADD button, which allows you to browse items on your desktop. Look for your FTM GEDCOM, highlight it and press 'open'.

When you now open FT Pro on your ipad you should find an EDIT button top left. Click on this and you should see your GEDCOM there, click it and it will upload.

Regards,
Maggie
Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: suegill on Saturday 18 May 13 20:28 BST (UK)
I have the Heredis app on my ipad.  It handles Gedcoms from FTM very easily.
Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: poirot on Sunday 19 May 13 21:24 BST (UK)
Hi Maggie,

Thank you so much for those instructions. It worked fine.

I saved my tree as an all in one GEDCOM file and I now have all my lines on my iPAD which is brilliant.

Cheers,
Poirot :D :D :D :D
Title: Re: Family Tree Pro on the Ipad
Post by: Maggie. on Sunday 19 May 13 22:58 BST (UK)
So glad you are up and running, Poirot - glad i could help. Enjoy.  ;D

Regards,
Maggie (writing this on her mini iPad)  :)