RootsChat.Com

General => Ancestral Family Tree DNA Testing => Topic started by: Forthefamily on Sunday 05 July 20 18:57 BST (UK)

Title: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Forthefamily on Sunday 05 July 20 18:57 BST (UK)
I used to have access to the Thruline facility on Ancestry for both my tree and my husband's tree but now I only have access for my husband's Thrulines and not mine.

I get this message......."You are not connected to ThruLines yet."

Both trees are private but can be found in the search index. They are both extensive trees. My tree has 6921 people so the suggestion below doesn't exactly help.

"You may not be seeing suggestions from ThruLines because there is not enough information in the linked family tree."

Has anyone had this problem and if so how did you fix it?

mab
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Gadget on Sunday 05 July 20 19:01 BST (UK)
As long as they are searchable and you are signed in to you, you should be able to access Thrulines.

.....and your tree is linked to your DNA  - forgot that but assumed it was.

Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Forthefamily on Sunday 05 July 20 19:05 BST (UK)
Yes my tree is linked to my DNA.  Would making my tree public make any difference?
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Gadget on Sunday 05 July 20 19:07 BST (UK)
I've just checked the tree settings for mine which is private.  I get Thrulines with this configuration.
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Forthefamily on Sunday 05 July 20 19:09 BST (UK)
Yes that's how I have it set up.

Total mystery   :)
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Forthefamily on Sunday 05 July 20 19:11 BST (UK)
I also did a scan of my computer which would have dumped cookies etc. Is it even worth the bother of contacting Ancestry?

 ::)
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Gadget on Sunday 05 July 20 19:12 BST (UK)
Here's what the help functions says:

https://support.ancestry.co.uk/s/article/AncestryDNA-ThruLines

I don't understand how clearing cookies would cause it as I clear history and cookies whenever I go off line (Firefox option)
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Forthefamily on Sunday 05 July 20 19:18 BST (UK)
Yes me too...I also use Firefox but the tech support (the son) suggested I do it ;D
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Gadget on Sunday 05 July 20 19:24 BST (UK)
It's very odd. I've just checked mine and it's working fine. It might be best if you do get in touch with Ancestry, unless someone comes along and can explain it.

If you did a clear up, you wouldn't be able to see your husband's Thrulines either. Can you try another machine to see if it works on that?
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Forthefamily on Sunday 05 July 20 19:24 BST (UK)
Okay I read the help link and all is okay as far as my settings. I'll wait until tomorrow and try again.
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: brigidmac on Sunday 05 July 20 19:27 BST (UK)
I often get that message on my trees for myself my mother and my aunt's account ..I try again later ir wait and  thrulines come up
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Forthefamily on Sunday 05 July 20 19:30 BST (UK)
Thanks to both of you for your help :)

I have decided to unlink my tree, wait 24 hours and reattach wait another 24 hours and see what happens.

I'll let you know if it's okay  :)
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Gadget on Sunday 05 July 20 19:37 BST (UK)
Before you do, remember  it can take longer than 24 hrs to reprocess
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Forthefamily on Sunday 05 July 20 19:54 BST (UK)
Okay  ;D
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Pheno on Sunday 05 July 20 22:34 BST (UK)
Something I found was that the name attached to your dna sample must be exactly the same as the name of the person in the tree to whom it is attached, i.e. formatting of capital letters, spelling etc.

Pheno
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Forthefamily on Sunday 05 July 20 22:59 BST (UK)
Okay good to know.

mab
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Forthefamily on Thursday 09 July 20 14:10 BST (UK)
I now have Thrulines.

I made sure my DNA profile name was the same as the one on my kit even though it is not my name on my tree. My kit is in my married name and of course on my tree it's my maiden name.

My tree is private but I made sure that I hadn't ticked the box that would prevent my tree from being seen in the search index.

I detached my tree from my DNA profile...so July 5th...and then added it on to my DNA profile on Jul 7th.

When I went in today it wasn't available at first til the page refreshed itself and voila!


I have no explanation as to why I had it before and then I didn't.


mab
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Gadget on Thursday 09 July 20 14:36 BST (UK)
Glad you got it sorted



I have no explanation as to why I had it before and then I didn't.


mab

Ancestry up to it's tricks - just keeping you on your toes  ;D
Title: Re: Ancestry Thrulines
Post by: Forthefamily on Thursday 09 July 20 15:37 BST (UK)
 ;D

No kidding  ::) :P ::)

mab