Author Topic: GIFFIN from Scotland  (Read 1684 times)

Offline Busy Searching

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
GIFFIN from Scotland
« on: Friday 10 September 04 00:34 BST (UK) »
James GIFFIN born  c1813 in D..... , Ayrshire, Scotland married Janet born c 1813 in Lochwinnock? Renfrewshire Scotland. They married c 1832 and had all their children in paisley, Renfrewshire Scotland. John born c1833, Margaret c 1836, Colin c1839, James c1842, Jessie c1844, and Elizabeth c1847. They immigrated to Australia aboard the Beejapore in 1853 ex Liverpool 12/10/1852. James was a weaver by trade according to ship indents. Any information would be appreciated. :o
Lea/Lee - Hertfordsire, Matthews - Essex, Muddle, Plumb, Gay, Watts, Daley.
McKenna, Phillips, Fowler, Giffin, McCourtie, Eather, Donovan, Frith, Weale, Trevor

Offline trish251

• RootsChat Leaver
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: GIFFIN from Scotland
« Reply #1 on: Friday 10 September 04 17:20 BST (UK) »
From the IGI - is this your James?
Birth:  02 NOV 1815   
Christening:  05 NOV 1815   Dundonald, Ayr, Scotland
Father:  WILLIAM GIFFEN   Mother:  MARY ARNOT
Batch C115904  1778 - 1820  Film 1041339   
If it is, if you look up the batch you will find 6 siblings
I can't find the children on the IGI but you can look up all Scottish births/marriages (incl most church registers) at
http://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk - There is a fee but it is quite reasonable.
Did they belong to a dissenting church? This is sometimes why the christening records are not available. Statutory registration didn't start in Scotland until 1855.
Do you have James death certificate from Australia - This should give his wife's full name and his parent's names.

Trish
Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Busy Searching

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 10 September 04 23:08 BST (UK) »