Author Topic: Don't be deceived - Research isn't always easy!  (Read 202699 times)

Offline Mogsmum

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Don't be deceived - Research isn't always easy!
« on: Saturday 16 September 06 11:22 BST (UK) »
I've not been using this Board very long, but I have found a wealth of information and people incredibly generous with their time and willingness to share information.

I have read some (admittedly not all) of the Beginners topics and even though I've been researching for about 8 years, I'm still finding out things I previously didn't know.

What has become apparent (perhaps not here so much as with other similar boards) is that with a new series of 'Who Do You Think You Are?', more and more people are taking up their research and are experiencing more difficulty than they imagined.

Of course, there is no way of knowing how many 'celebs' the BBC might have begun researching only to hit the brick wall we all know is going to be there.

But I just wondered whether it would be helpful to newcomers, to have a 'sticky' on the beginners page which points out that it isn't all 'plain sailing'?  That we mere mortals do not have a team of researchers working behind the scenes on our behalf, that we do not have the luxury of a 'tame' Archivist standing by with the very Parish, Company or Workhouse record we might want and that the PRO is seldom as deserted as when Robert Lindsay visited?

I know the 'Mods' here do an excellent job and I'm happy to put my hands up if someone says 'we already do say this' - and admit that I clearly haven't found that bit yet.   And, of course there is also the very valid point that people are naturally enthusiastic to find out what they can and so jump in without necessarily reading the Beginners pages.