Author Topic: Charles Cornelius Plunket/t  (Read 6934 times)

Offline plunquet

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Charles Cornelius Plunket/t
« on: Wednesday 04 October 06 03:46 BST (UK) »
Last night I was reading through my ggrandfather's diary for 1855 and he mentions for the 19th of April that it was the date his father, the abovenamed Charles Cornelius Plunket, died in 1838.

Although he spent some time abroad in his younger days in the Swiss Regiment de Salis and in Malta in the Royal Regiment (as ensign 1804 then as lieut.1805) I believe he died in England but have no idea of whereabouts.

Can anybody give me any hints how/where I could search for a record of his death?

I'm new to this and I really wish I'd listened more to my mother!

Thanks

Plunquet

Offline sillgen

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Charles Cornelius Plunket/t
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 04 October 06 09:35 BST (UK) »
Hi
If he died in England there is a good chance that the death was registered (though it was not a legal requirement until later) so you should look for the death certificate.  You can search the index free on www.ancestry.co.uk.  Choose the complete version not the freeBMD which is incomplete - though worth a look as it might be one of the ones they have transcribed so far.   Wills are another option.  Try the documentsonline site from the PRO and see if he shows up in the pre1858 wills they have online.  Again it is not full coverage but you might be lucky.
Census records from 1841 onwards are also on ancestry but you have to pay to access those.  Finding your ggrandfather on those might show where they lived.
Andrea

Offline plunquet

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 05 October 06 01:31 BST (UK) »