Author Topic: Hi new member  (Read 7387 times)

Offline munchies

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Elias Saundie (Soundie) and Jane Heeley
    • View Profile
Hi new member
« on: Saturday 28 February 04 20:37 GMT (UK) »
Hi there i'm new to all this so bear with me. Picked up info about this site at the Family History Fair in Northwich today. I have been doing some research (on-line only so far) but have hit a blip with my great grandparents and wondered if anyone can help. His name was Elias Sounde  and was a trawlerman/mariner/steward, depending on where you look, from Norway and he married Jane Healey from Middlesex presumably before 1879 when grandads older brother was born but after 1870 which was when Jane was approx 16 but i can't verify a marriage for them. have tried various combinations of spellings as have already discovered from different sources that surname has been recorded as Soundie, Sounde, Saunde, Saundus and Launde. They lived in West Derby and all the children were born there but as she was originally from middlesex am not sure if they married in Liverpool or not. I have found one marriage record for Jane Heeley dec 1872 in west derby but can find no cross reference for elias. I wondered if anyone has any suggestions before I give in and  buy the certificate.

Also Elias was supposed to have drowned at sea approx 1900 there is no death record for him does anyone know any way of finding out what happened to him?

Thanks and sorry this ended up so long :)
Surname interests Soundie, Brookfield, Healey/Heeley, Frost, Handley, Goodall Weaver, Evans, Pagett, Waywell/Whaywell, Haimes, Jones, Roberts, Cummins Ryder, Bleasdale and Foley, Jackson, Robinson, Calvert and Grayson.
Searching in Liverpool, Shropshire, London, Worcester and Holywell, Stafford and Cheshire.  (and eventually in Ireland) :-)

Offline trystan

• Administrator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • RootsChat Co-founder
    • View Profile
Re:Hi new member