Author Topic: Italian marries Irish lady in England?  (Read 7988 times)

Offline mich b

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
Italian marries Irish lady in England?
« on: Monday 19 February 07 17:53 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone,
I've just joined Roots chat (this is my first message) and I'm fairly new to researching my ancestory and I have limited financial resources.
What I have so far discovered is that my g-g-g-grandfather, Giovanni BINI, was born in Lucca in Italy in 1804, it seems he married an Irish lady called Sophia (b.Dublin 1810). I have not found a marriage certificate (or record) so far.
I have found that Giovanni's name has been misspelt on several Census' and on a trade directory i.e.
BINI spelt as BENNEY, BENEY and BINEY
giovanni spelt as JOHN.
A very helpful lady from Sheffield (local studies) suggested that they could have met in Liverpool, got married in Manchester (had first baby in Mancs) then moved around with his work judging by where subsequent childrens births were registered. He was a plaster figure maker - eventually with his own shop in Sheffield.
They were Catholic, does anyone know of ways to find out where their marriage might be recorded so I can discover Sophia's maiden name and possibly begin a search of my Irish roots. Also if anyone know's of any BINI's (its not a common name) or if there's a way to search records for the Italian connection, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks Michelle   

BINI:Lucca,Italy/Sheffield/Shireoaks/Nott'm
JOHNSON:Whetstone,Leics
PINDER:Sheffield
KENNY:IRL,Dublin,ENG,Lancs,S.KENNY m BINI 
BINGHAM:Sheffield/Shireoaks
WATSON:Foxton,Leics
WORMLEIGHTON:Enderby,Leics
MARSH:Sheffield
KEMBLE:Godalming/Leicester
GLEDHILL:Bolton,Lancs/Worsop,Notts
PEBERDY:Saddington/Foxton/Gumley, Leics
HORTON:Saddington/Foxton,Leics
DANN:Foxton/Cosby/Leics
HARRITY:Sheffield
COLDERLEY:Bolton,Lancs
JONES:ChurchGresley/Smisby,Derby's/Worksop,Notts
JEACOCK: LEI/Blaby