Author Topic: William James Bryden - Dumfries  (Read 17339 times)

Offline patty

• RootsChat Extra
  • I've not edited my PROFILE yet
    • View Profile
William James Bryden - Dumfries
« on: Friday 23 February 07 20:55 GMT (UK) »
I am just beginning a search of my Scottish ancestors.  My great-grandfather was William James Bryden.  He was born about 1838 in Dumfries.  I know he had one brother Robert Bryden who apparently ran a tobacconist shop for many many years in Dumfries.  I believe Robert also married a woman by the name of Helen Hastings. That is all I have.
By 1881 William appears in the Canadian census, so if he can be found in Scotland I would suspect it would be in the earlier Scottish census reports.  Perhaps there are also some old telephone or postal directories from the early 1900s that would indicate Robert's whereabouts?
Would anyone be so kind to perhaps have a look around and see if they might come up with some further information that I could use to extend my search?
Many thanks - I am not at all familiar with searching Scottish records and would really appreciate any help.
Sincere thanks
Patty
in Canada

Offline Gadget

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: William James Bryden - Dumfries
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 27 February 07 21:23 GMT (UK) »
Hi Patty  :)

I've had a good look for births for William and Robert Bryden in Dumfries but none come up with the same parents. I've also searched for them on the 1841-1861 censuses, again to no avail. I've checked for a death for a Helen Bryden 1855 - 1956 in both Dumfriesshire and Kirkcudbrightshire but again nothing comes up with a maiden name of Hastings.

It's all a bit of a puzzle  :-\  It might be worth you registering with the Scotlands People website www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk It's pay to view but very reasonable.

Do you have any other information at all that might help?

Regards

Gadget