Author Topic: Gordon Family -- Penninghame  (Read 12686 times)

Offline indigobloke

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
Gordon Family -- Penninghame
« on: Sunday 18 November 07 12:00 GMT (UK) »
Hi

I'm just beginning to track my mother's family and have traced my GGgrandfather, John Gordon, to Penninghame, Wigtownshire. I have found him/his widowed mother, Margaret, in the various 1851 Census-related pages.

My question relates to the IGI entries for his birth (and his parents' marriage). There are two for each, one for Penninghame and one for Newton Stewart. I can see from the map that Newton Stewart is the larger town.

1851 Census gives place of birth as Penninghame and I presume this is the actual place of birth. Was it usual for registrations to be made at both locations?

Thanks, Peter
Wilson (Wakefield, Yorkshire)
Gordon (Midlothian)
Ruddle (Wiltshire)
Alley (Laois)
Pierce (Westmeath)

Offline Gadget

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Gordon Family -- Penninghame
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 18 November 07 13:52 GMT (UK) »
Hi Peter

The Marriage/banns records are often recorded in two places - banns were read in the parishes where they each lived. I've not come across more than one baptism though.

Gadget
Census &  BMD information Crown Copyright www.nationalarchives.gov.uk and GROS - www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk

***Restorers - Please do not use my restores without my permission. Thanks***

Offline JAP

• RootsChat Leaver
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 19 November 07 02:21 GMT (UK) »
Peter,

In this particular case - both in the marriage record(s) and in the birth/baptism(s) record(s) - there is one entry that has been extracted from church registers and one entry which has been submitted by a member of the LDS.

Go with the extracted records  ;)