Author Topic: RootsChat - link problem?  (Read 1855 times)

Offline RogFromBrum

  • RootsChat Extra
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
RootsChat - link problem?
« on: Wednesday 06 February 08 08:11 GMT (UK) »
Hi,

For the past 2-3 days I've found that the link buttons at the top of the RootsChat home page are not working as they should.

When I click on "search rootschat" it brings up the shop.

When I click on "shop" it takes me to the help pages.

When I click on "profile" that brings up the search function.

Also, there are two buttons labelled "chat".

Is it just me ???

Cheers, Roger
Parker, Nokes, Jackson, Hailstone, Murray, Fiske, Bodycot, Marshall
Leicestershire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Yorkshire

Offline suey

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,793
  • The light is on but there's no-one at home!
    • View Profile
Re: RootsChat - link problem?
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 06 February 08 08:20 GMT (UK) »

Hi Roger, I just tried mine and all the buttons are working as they should for me...... :-\

Suey
All census lookups are Crown Copyright from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
Sussex - Knapp. Nailard. Potten. Coleman. Pomfrey. Carter. Picknell
Greenwich/Woolwich. - Clowting. Davis. Kitts. Ferguson. Lowther. Carvalho. Pressman. Redknap. Argent.
Hertfordshire - Sturgeon. Bird. Rule. Claxton. Taylor. Braggins

Offline Gadget

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 54,832
    • View Profile
Re: RootsChat - link problem?
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 06 February 08 09:40 GMT (UK) »
Hi Rog

Nothing wrong with mine either. it would seem that you've got a left shift - not sure if it's your machine or what  :-\

Does this happen on any other sites, or anywhere else on roots or is it just these buttons?

Gadget
Census &  BMD information Crown Copyright www.nationalarchives.gov.uk and GROS - www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk

***Restorers - Please do not use my restores without my permission. Thanks***

Offline RogFromBrum

  • RootsChat Extra
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: RootsChat - link problem?
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday 06 February 08 12:16 GMT (UK) »
Hi both - How weird ???

I've attached a screen shot to show what it looks like - see the two "chat" buttons! (The left hand "chat" button brings up a calendar and the right one enters Chatterbox.) Please see next message for attachment.

It's only with this site and, also, I've just discovered it's only with Firefox (which is the browser I prefer to use). IE 7 is fine and the links work correctly. However, with IE 7 there is no "chat" button.

I've emptied the cache on Firefox to see if the problem was there but it's not made any difference.

Are you both using IE 7?

Cheers, Roger
Parker, Nokes, Jackson, Hailstone, Murray, Fiske, Bodycot, Marshall
Leicestershire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Yorkshire


Offline RogFromBrum

  • RootsChat Extra
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: RootsChat - link problem?
« Reply #4 on: Wednesday 06 February 08 12:23 GMT (UK) »
Sorry - it didn't like the name I used for my attachment - trying again!
Parker, Nokes, Jackson, Hailstone, Murray, Fiske, Bodycot, Marshall
Leicestershire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Yorkshire

Offline Stumped!

  • RootsChat Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 705
    • View Profile
Re: RootsChat - link problem?
« Reply #5 on: Wednesday 06 February 08 12:26 GMT (UK) »
That's odd!
The Home button is missing.
Peter

Offline Gadget

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 54,832
    • View Profile
Re: RootsChat - link problem?
« Reply #6 on: Wednesday 06 February 08 12:53 GMT (UK) »
I use Firefox but get the normal headers:

Gadget
Census &  BMD information Crown Copyright www.nationalarchives.gov.uk and GROS - www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk

***Restorers - Please do not use my restores without my permission. Thanks***

Offline RogFromBrum

  • RootsChat Extra
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: RootsChat - link problem?
« Reply #7 on: Wednesday 06 February 08 13:11 GMT (UK) »
Hi Gadget,

I'm using Firefox 2.0.0.11, set to automatically download and install updates. The RootsChat tool bar was fine until a few days ago but I can't remember whether Firefox had done an update just before then.

I also use Norton security, which is bang up to date, so I'm sure my PC is clean. I suspect it's related to Firefox in some way. It may right itself in due course.

In the meantime, I will just press the button to the right of the one I want!

Cheers, Roger
Parker, Nokes, Jackson, Hailstone, Murray, Fiske, Bodycot, Marshall
Leicestershire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Yorkshire

Offline Gadget

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 54,832
    • View Profile
Re: RootsChat - link problem?
« Reply #8 on: Wednesday 06 February 08 13:46 GMT (UK) »
I'm exactly the same Rog and have no problems. I've just checked and I have the latest version of Firefox.  Could it be your settings relating to Rootchat:

Do you allow pop ups and cookies, etc. from Roots?

Otherwise, I'm at a loss.

Gadget
Census &  BMD information Crown Copyright www.nationalarchives.gov.uk and GROS - www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk

***Restorers - Please do not use my restores without my permission. Thanks***