Author Topic: Christle Family  (Read 16118 times)

Offline jarvman

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Christle Family
« on: Wednesday 03 September 08 17:13 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I'm a relative novice at this genealogy business, but I have managed to trace back on my mother's side (through searching census records), her Irish Grandfather, Thomas Christle. I know that he came to Manchester from Ireland with his wife Jane (nee Smith) and died in 1892 in Gorton, and I also know he was probably born circa 1856 in Offaly (king's) county. But that's it! I've no idea which part of Offaly he came from, or whether there are still Christle's living there - it's not a common Irish name and doesn't show up in any Irish genealogy book I've seen. If anyone could help I'd be eternally grateful.

Cheers,

Mike Smith

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Christle Family
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 03 September 08 18:24 BST (UK) »
Welcome to Rootschat.
There's one entry in Griffith's Valuation in King's Co. for a Thomas Christle but you would be wise to check other spelling variations as well.
http://griffiths.askaboutireland.ie/gv4/gv_family_search_form.php
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!

Offline Notinpastyet

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 04 September 08 07:56 BST (UK) »
Hi Mike,I also notice from the same place where Thomas Christle is mention in Griffith's Valuation -Kilconfert-Killoneen,there is also a Smyth ,if Thomas & Jane married in Ireland maybe worth checking around to see if Jane came from this family,Regards Nipy

Offline jarvman

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Thursday 04 September 08 08:26 BST (UK) »
Hi Guys,

Thanks for the leads, it's much appreciated. I'm amazed how quick it was to get a response!

Jarvman

Offline Notinpastyet

• RootsChat Veteran