Author Topic: CHARGE Family - Little Hadham  (Read 2651 times)

Offline goof

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
CHARGE Family - Little Hadham
« on: Friday 26 September 08 10:44 BST (UK) »
I need help tracing my great-great-grandfather William Charge. He married Ann Watson in St.Cecilia's Church, Little Hadham on 6th July 1807, a maltster by trade. I have a copy of the entry in the parish records. They had twin sons born in 1824 and a daughter born in 1826, I have all their birth certificates.
I cannot trace William's birth or death, and neither can HALS. He may have died before his son Henry married in 1850 as he did not sign as witness.
IGI records show a William Charge christened in Lt.Hadham 20th Jan. 1765, son of John & Elizabeth Charge, and the National Burial Index shows a death on 1st April 1832 in Lt.Hadham. There were many families in Lt.Hadham with that surname, there is no confirmation that this birth and death relates to my William.
Thank you.
Geoffrey Charge
Charge, Gray, McCorry. Essex,Suffolk, Ireland (Armagh)

Offline delta

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: Charge family, Little Hadham
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 27 September 08 12:05 BST (UK) »
Hello Geoffrey
Are you sure you have the right marriage in 1807?
Assuming the couple were 20ish when they married then Ann would have been around 40 when their children were born.  Also, it seems strange that there should be a gap of 17 years between marriage and children being born.
On the IGI there are two girls Jane baptised 8.9.1807 and Martha 19.3.1809 Little Hadham, parents William and Ann.  Later there are two boys - Henry Vale Charge and William Charles Clarke Charge baptised 28.8.1824 Thorley and a girl Amelia Ann Charge baptised 7.9.1826 Thorley.
The only marriage on there around that time was between William Charge and Ann Clark 20.10.1825 at Little Hallingbury, Essex.