Author Topic: completed - How to put completed on posting  (Read 4186 times)

Offline deebee

  • RootsChat Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: How to put completed on posting
« Reply #9 on: Tuesday 02 December 08 13:48 GMT (UK) »
Thank you Trish

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline trish251

  • RootsChat Leaver
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *
  • Posts: 9,156
    • View Profile
Re: How to put completed on posting
« Reply #10 on: Tuesday 02 December 08 14:00 GMT (UK) »
1. Go to the thread you want to mark complete. You  have to be the person who started the thread ie made the very first post on page 1.

2. It will look like the first image. Because you wrote the first post, you will have the option to modify  which for the screen shot, is only next to my posts (I can't modify your posts)

3. Click on modify and you will get the next screen
Where it says   Subject  How to put completed on posting
insert the word COMPLETED in front of How  and the title will read
COMPLETED  How to put completed on posting

4. Then click save (under the text of the message) to save the change.

Trish

Edit

They are not very good images - i'll try again
Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline Erato

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 4,873
  • #62
    • View Profile
Re: How to put completed on posting
« Reply #11 on: Tuesday 02 December 08 14:06 GMT (UK) »
Not disagreeing with you, Trish.  I just wanted to point out that some people seem to be taking this too far.  From my perspective, this 'completed' business is not a good idea for the reason you stated.  I've only marked a few very narrowly defined requests as completed.
Wiltshire:  Banks, Taylor
Somerset:  Duddridge, Richards, Barnard, Pillinger
Gloucestershire:  Barnard, Marsh, Crossman
Bristol:  Banks, Duddridge, Barnard
Down:  Ennis, McGee
Wicklow:  Chapman, Pepper
Wigtownshire:  Logan, Conning
Wisconsin:  Ennis, Chapman, Logan, Ware
Maine:  Ware, Mitchell, Tarr

Offline trish251

  • RootsChat Leaver
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *
  • Posts: 9,156
    • View Profile
Re: How to put completed on posting
« Reply #12 on: Tuesday 02 December 08 14:10 GMT (UK) »
Not disagreeing with you, Trish.  I just wanted to point out that some people seem to be taking this too far.  From my perspective, this 'completed' business is not a good idea for the reason you stated.  I've only marked a few very narrowly defined requests as completed.

No worries - it is providing me with practise in trying to write useful instructions & do decent print screens  ;D
I hope dee will forgive my tardiness

OK try these images with my last set of instructions!

The first image looks awful on my screen - does it make any sense to you Dee?
Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline trish251

  • RootsChat Leaver
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *
  • Posts: 9,156
    • View Profile
Re: completed - How to put completed on posting
« Reply #13 on: Tuesday 02 December 08 14:32 GMT (UK) »
Hi Dee

So glad to see the "how to mark  completed"  is completed  :D 

Trish
Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline deebee

  • RootsChat Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: completed - How to put completed on posting
« Reply #14 on: Tuesday 02 December 08 14:37 GMT (UK) »
Hi Trish,

All the credit goes to you, thank you for all your help.

dee   ;D

Offline grubheam

  • RootsChat Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
    • View Profile
Re: completed - How to put completed on posting
« Reply #15 on: Monday 22 December 08 20:21 GMT (UK) »
Hi Trish

you are not making any sense about completed posts.

Are you saying on "Subject" box - I am first person on the original thread (Ist thread) I typed for e.g. "Please help me find Alan Smith" - so if the topic is completed, I have to use modify button then go to "Subject" box and I got to change like this "Please help me find Alan Smith - completed" ????

Is that right Trish?
 ???
Gallop / Gallop of Mid & East Dorset & Bournemouth area
Grubheam of Herefordshire
Luker of Abingdon, Berkshire & Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Dwight of Middlesex & London

Offline Erato

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 4,873
  • #62
    • View Profile
Re: completed - How to put completed on posting
« Reply #16 on: Monday 22 December 08 20:25 GMT (UK) »
Yes, something like that.
Wiltshire:  Banks, Taylor
Somerset:  Duddridge, Richards, Barnard, Pillinger
Gloucestershire:  Barnard, Marsh, Crossman
Bristol:  Banks, Duddridge, Barnard
Down:  Ennis, McGee
Wicklow:  Chapman, Pepper
Wigtownshire:  Logan, Conning
Wisconsin:  Ennis, Chapman, Logan, Ware
Maine:  Ware, Mitchell, Tarr

Offline casalguidi

  • RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 14,445
    • View Profile
Re: completed - How to put completed on posting
« Reply #17 on: Monday 22 December 08 20:28 GMT (UK) »
Yes, just like that Grubheam - modify the first post in a topic.

Casalguidi :)
Census information is Crown Copyright http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk