Author Topic: Morris Family - Help please  (Read 7998 times)

Offline tay

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Morris Family - Help please
« on: Tuesday 27 January 09 11:58 GMT (UK) »
I am fairly new to roottschat and am looking to find info on the Morris family in County Cavan.
George Morris was born in coalhill? county Cavan in 1859, the son of George Morris Carpenter. George jnr joined the Hussars in Ireland re: land wars & then went to Egypt & back to england where married & settled. I have all his army service & up to date stuff but don't know where to start on tracing irish history, can anyone help please.
Thankyou.

Offline cavanlass

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Morris Family - Help please
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 17 March 09 13:00 GMT (UK) »
hi have just joined roots so just seen your message. i would suggest that the place name  is cootehill . cavan. there were a morris family in cavan town when i was a child 1950s they owened a drapers shop. i have found the latter day saints family history section very helpful as they have most of the microfilm of irish  births baptisms and marriages .

Offline Foffee

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 20 July 09 00:46 BST (UK) »
My Morris family is from Co Cavan, I do believe there was a George among the family, I will have to look back over my records. I am not sure if we are the same Morris family but Cootehill Co Cavan has been mentioned. If you care to email me at  (*)  perhaps we could exchange notes and see if we do belong to the same family.
Regards Rose

(*) Moderator Comment: e-mail removed in accordance with RootsChat policy,
to avoid spamming and other abuses.
Please use the Personal Message (PM) system for exchanging personal data.

New members must make at least three postings before being allowed to use the PM facility.
See Help-Page:  http://www.rootschat.com/help/pms.php

Offline tjsgirl