Author Topic: Hit a wall!  (Read 5777 times)

Offline Mrs F

• RootsChat Extra
  • Great Great Grandfather Ebenezer Surry
    • View Profile
Hit a wall!
« on: Thursday 26 February 09 18:49 GMT (UK) »
 ??? Don't know what to do now. My grandparents marriage certificate tells me that my grandmothers father was called George Edward Hodge (deceased). However on her birth certificate no father is mentioned at all. Mothers name is Mary Hodge formerly Dodd.

Does this suggest that perhaps she was married before she had my grandmother and that perhaps her husband was not the father. My grandmother was born Doris Mary Hodge b. 1917 in Luton. Only marriage between a Mary Dodd and any Hodge  was in 1903 between a Mary Hephzibah Dodd and a Samuel James Hodge, he however died in 1915.

My dad says he vaguely remembers an aunt Ivy and Dora who were his mothers half sisters (all sharing the same father Hodge?).

I am still new to all this. Don't know where to look now.  :'(

Any help gratefully received.
EILES (Bethnal Green, Westham, Leyton & Bedfordshire). SURRY (Southgate, Guilden Morden& Kent). DODSON & KNOWLES (Lymm, Bucklow, Cheshire). HODGE & DODD (Luton, Bedfordshire). SMITH (Bethnal Green)

Offline lizdb

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Hit a wall!
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 26 February 09 19:09 GMT (UK) »
It is not unusual for people to make up a father to go on a marriage cert, rather than leave it blank.

Or sometimes, if someone has not known their own father, they give the name of the person who they have known as a father in their life - maybe a stepfather or even a grandfather.

If there is no father on the birth cert it will be unlikely you will ever know who her dad was, and if you do get hints you will never know for sure!

do you know if Ivy and Dora had the surnamr Hodge? were they tyounger or older? maybe theri birth certs will help.
Edmonds/Edmunds - mainly Sussex
DeBoo - London
Green - Suffolk
Parker - Sussex
Kemp - Essex
Farrington - Essex