Author Topic: TIPS FOR ORGANISING MY RESEARCH/RECOMMENDED SOFTWARE  (Read 2031 times)

Offline JacquiY

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
TIPS FOR ORGANISING MY RESEARCH/RECOMMENDED SOFTWARE
« on: Tuesday 15 February 05 19:29 GMT (UK) »
Hi, I'm quite new at this but the more research I do the more paperwork I seem to be buried in...and the more paperwork I have the harder it is to find anything!!!....I know this is quite an open question, but does anyone have any advice on how to organise my research.
I'm also interested in the genealogy software thats out there but quite frankly I haven't got a clue where to start - recommendations welcome please.
Jax  :)
WHELAN - DUBLIN
COWLEY - DUBLIN
O'DEA - TIPPERARY?
FLYNN - TIPPERARY?
HUGHES - STAFFORDSHIRE
TINGLE - STAFFORDSHIRE
MEIGH - STAFFORDSHIRE
WILLIAMS - STAFFORDSHIRE/GLOUCESTER
GREAVES - LEICESTERSHIRE

Offline kerryb

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: TIPS FOR ORGANISING MY RESEARCH/RECOMMENDED SOFTWARE
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 15 February 05 21:24 GMT (UK) »
Hi Jacqui

Firstly software - there is loads of different choices out there, but for me I chose the one I could afford which was GSP Family Tree version  4.  I believe it has been updated recently.  I would advice you to go to Amazon.co.uk and read some reveiws.  But I like Family Tree because it suits me, has facilities for adding notes and I like the facility for printing either my entire line or I can take a distant ancestor and print their line coming back to me.  Family Tree was average price as well and works well exporting data into a GEDCOM which is the software used by sites such as Ancestry.co.uk and I think, other software for sharing family trees across the web and with each other.