Author Topic: Whitchers of the newforest  (Read 5231 times)

Offline rev.ivorbiggin

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Whitchers of the newforest
« on: Saturday 21 March 09 22:13 GMT (UK) »
Hi to yo all, Can anyone give me any info on the Whitcher, romanys of the new forest circa 1800. I have managed to trace my gggg grandfather Alexander Whitcher to abt 1800 Eling New forest Hampshire, I belive his father was  Isaac. The trail goes cold here with no recorded marriages or births of Alexander in the Hampshire area. I know that there is a family of Romany's by the name of Whitcher, in the New forest, and think that they were around at that sort of time. Does anyone have any info please?
Thanx
Ivor
Whitcher,Roalf,Lewis,Phillips,Parry

Offline Little Nell

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Whitchers of the newforest
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 22 March 09 10:53 GMT (UK) »
Hi Ivor and welcome to RootsChat  :)

I'm no expert on Romany families, but I have found the following baptisms to Isaac and Sarah Whitcher:
Betsy b 2 Mar bapt 31 Mar 1802 Eling
Charlotte b 24 Mar bapt 9 May 1804 Eling
Harriett b 25 Apr bapt 10 Sep 1806, Eling
George b 2 Sep bap 26 Oct 1808 Eling                                           

As you say no sign of an Alexander, but they seem to have stayed in the Eling area for a number of years.

There are two marriages recorded for an Isaac Whitcher:

Isaac Whitcher m Joanna Wade 3 Dec 1766 Eling
Isaac Whitcher (widower) yeoman m Sally Hatch 17 Aug 1797 All Saints Southampton by licence

No idea if they are the same Isaac  :(  An Isaac Whitcher was buried in Eling 18 April 1815 aged 73.  A Johanna Whitcher was buried in Eling 22 May 1794, no age specified.  Isaac left a will which was proved in 1817, copy at Winchester.

If the second marriage is for the parents of Alexander then logically he could be the first child, given the date of the marriage.  However, Romany family does not seem to match with yeoman.