Author Topic: Evan EVANS, miller, Newtown  (Read 11678 times)

Offline devonblue

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Evan EVANS, miller, Newtown
« on: Sunday 19 April 09 00:20 BST (UK) »
My Great Grandfather was Evan EVANS a miller who variously said he was born at Abergethy/Newtown/Montgomeryshire depending on which census you read.  His father was also Evan EVANS also a miller. I have no knowledge of any of his family whatsoever other than his father's name on his marriage certificate.

Now with a name like that I can't find any clue as to which of several mine is. I have searched the 1851 census of Newown and there appear to be several.  There are also several born in 1844 with similar father's names.  The place name Abergethy does not appear to exist and I can't find anything similar.

By 1871 Evan jnr was living in Birmingham and went on to have grocer's shops.  The story fed down through the family was that he walked to Birmingham to find work.

He has been my brick wall for over 10 years so anyone's ideas to  help me find the real Evan Evans would be most welcome.
Midlands:Bayliss, Clemo, Eburn, Evans, Finney, Mayo, Morris, Rhead, Shutt, Upton, Waterhouse, Woodward, Wright, Woolley, Wyatt, 
Devon: Gillard, Jenkins, Manfield, Morrish, Palk, Salter, Shire, Scorse, Summers, Wood,
Dorset:  Fudge, Roberts,Trowbridge,
Montgomeryshire: Evans
Norfolk: Bond, Everard, Riches,
Somerset:Clothier, Hockey, Jenkins, Shire
Ireland:Mihill, Woodward, Zumach
Scotland:Lewis
Travellers:Cooper, Davies, Hughes, Manley, Orchard, Penfold, Roberts, Small, Wells/Wills

Offline silvery

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • information Crown Copyright, from www.nation
    • View Profile
Re: Evan EVANS, miller, Newtown
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 19 April 09 07:52 BST (UK) »
1871  RG10/3147/78/58

He is a lodger with Richard Bull 55 adn Sarah Bull 54
Evan Evans 27, flour miller b Abermele, Montgomeryshire