Author Topic: Researching in Ireland  (Read 7379 times)

Offline Wychwd4

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Researching in Ireland
« on: Monday 18 May 09 09:09 BST (UK) »
Hi, I am new to Roots Chat and quite new to genealogy, but it's already grabbed me  :)! My great grandfather, Timothy Edward Mannix,was born in Ireland about 1846.
He was married in London in 1876. How do I research his birth and possible death in Ireland (He left my great grandmother in about 1891-1892). I have no knowledge of counties etc. By the way his profession was a cordwainer or shoe/boot maker to us.
I would appreciate any help that you can give me
Regards
Wychwd4

Offline Purpeller

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: Researching in Ireland
« Reply #1 on: Monday 18 May 09 10:22 BST (UK) »
Welcome!

Civil registration had not begun in 1846 (started for births in 1864) so the only way to find his birth would be to know what parish he was born in and check their records in the National Library.  So it sounds like finding his birth is a dead end (pardon the pun) for now.

For his death, if he did die in Ireland: have a look at the LDS family search site:

http://pilot.familysearch.org/recordsearch/start.html#c=1408347;p=collectionDetails;t=searchable

From a cursory look, there are several Timothy Mannixs in the Cork/Kerry area.  You can narrow the search to just deaths.  I see one there, born 1849 died 1915 in Waterford which may be possible.

If you decide to order a cert, you need to download the form from the www.groireland.com website and send it to them by fax or post with your credit card details or a Euro cheque. 

I presume you have checked all the censuses for England for him?  That might give a location in Ireland as birth.

Best of luck,
Purpeller
Dublin, Limerick, Carlow, Waterford, Wicklow, Pembrokeshire

Offline Wychwd4

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile