Author Topic: What happened in Rustington and Littlehampton during WW2?  (Read 26378 times)

Offline alllegs

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
What happened in Rustington and Littlehampton during WW2?
« on: Tuesday 28 July 09 15:45 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I'm a teacher and next term I will be teaching WW2 to my year 5 class (9 and 10 year olds).  I have a ton of information about WW2 and know what I'm teaching but I'd like to tailor it to where my school is situated (Rustington, West Sussex) to make it more relavant to the children.  But I have no idea whether anything occured in Rustington and/or Littlehampton during the war.  Were children evacuated here? Was the village bombed?  Wikipedia claims that Littlehampton Community High School was a WW2 Military Hosptial, is this true and where can I find out more?

Any other info about the area would be greatly welcomed.

Thank you in anticipation
Legs
xxxx
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
DUR-Bainbridge,Hodgson,Richardson,Walker,Thompson,Armory,Wynn,Humble,Dunn,Chapman,Herin
YKS-Bradley,Hellawell,Dransfield,Sanderson,Gledhill,Mallinson,Tyas,Thornton,Nobel,Brook,Senior,Bower,Kay,Hirst,Smith,Lockwood, Clayton,Rollinson,Swallow
NTHNTS-Hubbard,Line,Goate,Tyler,Weed,Warren,Brown,Hollowell,Bird,Kirby,Dolby,Gilbert,Wootton
NFK-Burton,Myhill,Fisher,Thompson
LNRK-Neilson,Dudson,Forrest,McNight,Paterson
WL-Williams

Offline suzard

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: What happened in Rustington and Littlehampton during WW2?
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 28 July 09 16:02 BST (UK) »
http://local-history.co.uk/Groups/sussex.html

gives contact name phone no and address of Rustington Heritage centre

may be worth contacting???

Local library may have local history publications

Suz
Thornhill, Cresswell, Sisson, Harriman, Cripps, Eyre, Walter, Marson, Battison, Holmes, Bailey, Hardman, Fairhurst Noon-mainly in Derbys/Notts-but also Northampton, Oxford, Leics, Lancs-England

Offline alllegs