Author Topic: Janet Sharp  (Read 9599 times)

Offline 707nylon

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Janet Sharp
« on: Sunday 06 September 09 12:52 BST (UK) »
My great grandmother Janet Sharp was born 5/5/1830 in Alloa. I have found her on the 1841 Scottish Census with members of her family. The head of household is John Sharp who I presume is her Father, but  there is no sign of her Mother. The youngest Child is 4 so Mother  may have died between 1837 and 1841.

I am new to Genealogy and do not know where to look for earlier information about the family. Can anybody, please advise me of the next step to take?

Offline diddymiller

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Janet Sharp
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 06 September 09 19:29 BST (UK) »
Hi and welcome to RC!!

Scotlands People:

www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk

is a pay to view site but the indexes are free nad the prices reasonable. you can also print out certs.
janet Sharp is liosted as born 5/5/1830 Clackmannan to John Sharp & Margaret Hunter.

you should now be able to find their Marriage and possibly other children.
the Clackmannanshire surnames list:

http://www.dgnscrn.demon.co.uk/genuki/CLK/misc/surnames/

also lists a lot of Sharps. I have some by marriage in my Cook Family but further back.

If you require further help about a particular person feel free to ask. we are a clever lot!! nad love to help!!

Diddy  ;D
Cooks -(Clackmannanshire); Erskines - (fife); Youngs - (Dunfermline); Charltons - (Tyneside ); Skillings - (N.Norfolk); Legg - (N.Yorks, Tyneside) ; Carter - (Durham); Miller -(suffolk); Pattinson -(Lincs)

Offline diddymiller

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 06 September 09 19:32 BST (UK) »
Margaret sharps death is also on SP - i didn't look at full entry but 1 credit got me the date - 24/12/1840 so you were right. the full entry may give further info so worth looking.

Diddy