Author Topic: Lumsden-Sutherland  (Read 4848 times)

Offline Bentham

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Lumsden-Sutherland
« on: Tuesday 06 October 09 10:06 BST (UK) »
Hello everyone I am very new to this and am trying to find my Scots ancestry. My grandfather's middle name was Lumsden, as was my aunts, but nobody alive new why.
However I have found that my great-great grandmother was Ann Beattie nee Lumsden. She was born in Cullen in 1848 to Alexander and Margaret Lumsden (nee Sutherland).
They were married in Cullen in 1843. Alexander was (I think) a twin born in Boghead (?) in 1815. I a later census his place of birth is given as Ord.Could this be right?
Margaret was born in Wick and was older than Alexander but I can find no more about her.
I am not sure if anyone has researched the Lumsdens but if anybody can advise me I would be grateful.

Offline MonicaL

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Girl with firewood, Morar 1910 - MEM Donaldson
    • View Profile
Re: Lumsden-Sutherland
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 06 October 09 12:11 BST (UK) »
Hi Bentham

Welcome to RootsChat  :)

There is a family tree showing on Ancestry for the line of Alexander Lumsden and Margaret Sutherland. No details on Alexander's death, however parents are given as James Lumdsen 1769-1821 and Jane Corbett. There is some info for Margaret which hopefully you will be able to verify.

Margaret Sutherland
Born 24 Aug 1813 in Wick
Death in Liverpool in 1883
Parents: David Sutherland and Ann Rugg (no further details on them)

Children showing to Alexander and Margaret:

Jane b. 1847
Ann 1848 - 1929
John b. 1854

This is given for the family's 1871 entry:

George Falconer 25, engine fitter b.Edinburgh
Jane Falconer 24 b. Cullen, Banff
Aleen Falconer 17 months b. Edinburgh
Alex Lumsden 56, father in law, joiner, b. Banff
Margt Lumsden 57, mother in law b. Caithness