Author Topic: McKenzie and Burgess  (Read 3683 times)

Offline rdarby

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
McKenzie and Burgess
« on: Wednesday 28 October 09 12:36 GMT (UK) »
Hi all,
what a great site! I am fairly new to this so please be kind. I am searching my McKenzie ancestry line and have found a record of marriage banns between Kenneth McKenzie and Catherine Burgess in Kirkudbright in 1829. I believe these are my grgr grandparents. It is thought that they went to Canada (NB) and then to Australia. Kenneth may have been a seaman, possibly a captain. A number of their children were born in St Johns,NB before moving to Australia. My gr grandfather, William McKenzie, born 31/12/1839 in St Johns, was baptised in 1842 in Sydney Australia. Catherine remarried in 1853 to John Weston, also in Sydney. The family moved to Victoria in the 1860's. I have not found what became of Kenneth. A family story was that he was lost at sea as captian of a ship called the Selina, but I cannot verify this.
Any connections to McKenzies or Burgess families in Kirkcudbright area?
Anyone else interested n this family?
Roger
Darbys from Deal area, Allans Aberdeenshire/Banffshire, Ogles  Northumberland, McKenzies and Burgess  Kirkudbright/Dumfries, Campbells  Sutherlandshire, Malcolms Kincardine,Sheppeards Suffolk

Offline Gadget

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: McKenzie and Burgess
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 28 October 09 12:47 GMT (UK) »
Hi Roger and welcome  :)

I see they married in Urr and Cathrine's father was a John Burges(s).

My Kirkcudbrightshire Burgess line were mainly from the Kells/Parton area but did seem to travel around the Stewartry. We can trace them back to John Burgess b.c. 1737. However, he died in 1815 so there's not a direct connection through him but possibly  some relative. Catherine was not a family name though.