Author Topic: Need help on tracing an Argyll and Sutherland Highlander  (Read 15582 times)

Offline Joesniece

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Need help on tracing an Argyll and Sutherland Highlander
« on: Monday 09 November 09 22:54 GMT (UK) »
Hello everyone!

I am totally new to genealogy study and would be really grateful if some of you more experienced people could help me. Please, pretty please!

I am looking for details on my g-g-g uncle Joseph Stevenson. The old family story about him was he ran away to join the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders as soon as he was old enough, took part possibly in the Boer War, and also fought in the First World War (from which he never returned - but not necessarily due to death as he was not close to his family and had talked about emigrating).

I have a photograph of him in his full dress uniform (by a photographer P.G. Banks, Piershill, Edinburgh), dating from around the turn of the century and as it is just like other Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders soldier's uniforms I have seen, I believe the family story to be correct in that respect. After finding his older brother's age on the 1911 census recently, the dates seem right too. He was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, around 1881, therefore would have been 16 at the start of the Boer War. I also know he was a piper and possibly joined up as a band boy. I don't know whether he remained in this regiment up to and during WW I, or  whether he left the regiment and possibly enlisted again in the same or another regiment for WW I. He is nowhere to be found in the Belfast census 1911, which makes me think he didn't come home between the two wars at all.

Now I've hit a brick wall and desperately need help from any of you who can!