Author Topic: Moving data to new laptop?  (Read 8780 times)

Offline charlotteCH

  • Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,175
  • Genealogy's worth chatting about.
    • View Profile
Re: Moving data to new laptop?
« Reply #9 on: Saturday 26 December 09 12:13 GMT (UK) »
downside, Thank you for that info... I am learning ::)


"You may have compatibility problems with your FTM program, but you may be able to overcome those problems with a patch from their website."

Is that from FTM's website or from Win7's website?
 Dumb question probably :-[

charlotte

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline downside

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 4,206
  • Make my day
    • View Profile
Re: Moving data to new laptop?
« Reply #10 on: Saturday 26 December 09 12:28 GMT (UK) »
That was the FTM website.

http://www.familytreemaker.com/About/Default.aspx

It may also depend on how old your particualr version of FTM is.  If it is really ancient then you may need to consider getting a more modern version of FTM.  Alternatively you can export a GEDCOM file out of you current version and then import it into any brand of software, so there is no need to worry unduly about compatibility problems.  Your data can is safe and it will move forward into the future one way or another.
Sussex: Floate, West
Kent: Tuffee
Cheshire: Gradwell
Lancashire: Gradwell

UK Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline stevieuk

  • RootsChat Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Moving data to new laptop?
« Reply #11 on: Saturday 26 December 09 12:31 GMT (UK) »
You may have compatibility problems with your FTM program, but you may be able to overcome those problems with a patch from their website.



Hopefully not....Presuming FTM is Family Tree Maker?

http://tinyurl.com/yh5bw44

Seems 2008,2009 & 2010 are all compatible with Win7...

Offline charlotteCH

  • Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,175
  • Genealogy's worth chatting about.
    • View Profile
Re: Moving data to new laptop?
« Reply #12 on: Saturday 26 December 09 13:13 GMT (UK) »
I'm on FTM 2006 :(

Offline stevieuk

  • RootsChat Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Moving data to new laptop?
« Reply #13 on: Saturday 26 December 09 13:30 GMT (UK) »
I'm on FTM 2006 :(

Oh dear....Don`t panic...

You may be able to use Win7`s XP compatability mode.

It only works for Win7 Premium & upwards & only if your CPU will run in Virtualisation mode (think thats the correct spelling).

Its better to take things one step at a time.... Safe guard all your data first before you start messing about with Tech stuff..... remember copy everything, try & ensure you have 2 (TWO) copies of everything, before you fiddle & always better to have the copies in different places/PC.

If you are worried about FTM, try installing this first, but make a back-up or image of the new PC first or whatever its called.... Make a Restore point before doing anything, then try installing FTM.


Offline Redroger

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 12,313
  • Dad and Fireman at Kings Cross 13.7.1951
    • View Profile
Re: Moving data to new laptop?
« Reply #14 on: Saturday 26 December 09 13:34 GMT (UK) »
I transferred my family history data using USB 4GB memory sticks, tempting fate to say painless, but it was!
Ayres Brignell Cornwell Harvey Shipp  Stimpson Stubbings (all Cambs) Baumber Baxter Burton Ethards Proctor Stanton (all Lincs) Luffman (all counties)

Offline MerryGiles

  • RootsChat Extra
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Moving data to new laptop?
« Reply #15 on: Sunday 03 January 10 19:28 GMT (UK) »
Bob, Thanks for your help.
On my pc I have a number of programs....exe... that I have paid for and downloaded from the net [ eg Album GV2.4.exe] and others such as Family Tree Maker that has all my entered data intrinsic to it as I understand it now.

Do I copy these to the external HD lin the same way as  the data files?
 I ask this as I don't understand how your remark "Any application programs will need to be reinstalled" differs from copying them via the external HD.

charlotte

Unfortunately, you can't just move programs from one computer to another - they won't work. Microsoft Easy Transfer won't help here either.

If your programs (and the work) are worth more than 50 pounds, you might consider Zinstall XP7, it does transfer programs, files and everything else between computers.

Offline stevieuk

  • RootsChat Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Moving data to new laptop?
« Reply #16 on: Sunday 03 January 10 21:18 GMT (UK) »
You can use Laplink Mover to move programs....No idea how good it is...£11.95

http://store.computeractive.co.uk/?act=details&id=1211

More info
http://www.laplink.co.uk/pcmover

It does sound good, maybe I`ll part with £12...

A Laplink cable may also be required?

Offline charlotteCH

  • Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,175
  • Genealogy's worth chatting about.
    • View Profile
Re: Moving data to new laptop?
« Reply #17 on: Monday 04 January 10 04:08 GMT (UK) »
Thanks Merry and Stevieuk for those links and help.

Stevieuk, if I read the Laplink page correctly, that program is for upgrading to WIN7 and what I will be dealing with  is shifting data from an XP pc to a new Win7 laptop.
So maybe the Laplink mover does not apply to me?  Correct or not please?

Merry, The Zinstall7 implies that it moves the whole XP and all the programs and that they will function correctly on the new laptop.  Is this because I'd then have both XP and Win 7 on the laptop and the old programs would continue to function within an XP OS on the laptop side by side with Win7?

If so, is there any downside to this?

I'm not a techie so if the questions are funny please excuse- and any  help very much appreciated.

Thank you again :)

charlotte