Author Topic: Seeking the right Catharine Manson.  (Read 3949 times)

Offline Priscurl

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Seeking the right Catharine Manson.
« on: Wednesday 20 January 10 11:38 GMT (UK) »
I am a newbie on this board.

I am seeking my great great grandmother whose name was Catharine or Catherine Manson.

I don't have the name of any parents.  Robert was suggested, but I think her children, separated from their natural grandparents by 12,000 miles and 6months voyage, were a little confused at times.   They seemed to confuse their aunt with their grandmother.

I only know the following about Catherine that is certain.  She was born in Scotland in 1826, according to her death and marriage certificates.

Being 12,000 miles from each other seemed to confuse Catherine's surviving children.  If my great aunt was correct, they seemed to get more correspondence from their aunt, Elizabeth Shiels, their father's sister.  They continually confused Elizabeth Shiels, Jane Rankin and Catherine Manson on certificates and registrations.   

On both Catherine and her husband's death cerficates the son and son-in-law stated that both of them came from Glasgow.  It appears this is incorrect in both cases.  Both Catherine and her husband were born in 1826 and both also died in 1903.   Catherine's husband was not born in Glasgow in 1826, but in Channelkirk, Berwickshire.
There are no Catherine Mansons born in Glasgow in 1826.  All Catherine Mansons born in 1826 came from Caithness.

There are only a few possibilities for our Catherine.

I have already been able to eliminate Catharine Manson b. 12/1/1826 to James Manson and Anne Davidson in Canisbay.  This Catharine marred David Paterson and remained in Scotland.

The possibilities are the following:

Catharine Manson b. 1/1/1826 in Halkirk to William Manson and Catharine Keith.