Author Topic: Henry family from Cookstown  (Read 5318 times)

Offline Paddyfrances

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Henry family from Cookstown
« on: Friday 09 April 10 10:04 BST (UK) »
I'm looking for the family of William Henry born abt 1856/7 in Cookstown.
He left Tyrone (date unknown) and married Sarah J Ewen in 1890 in Chester le Street in the north east of England.

The marriage certificate show his father as Alexander Henry - Farmer.
I tried searching the Griffith's Valuation Index and found an Alexander Henry in the Townland of Beltonanaen, parish Kildress.

There is a family story that they were a prominant family in Cookstown and that there is a Henry Street named after them.

I'm new to Irish genealogy and would really appreciate some help with this.
Thank you,
Patricia

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Henry family from Cookstown
« Reply #1 on: Friday 09 April 10 10:21 BST (UK) »
Welcome to Rootschat.

There's a Will for an Alexander Henry but doesn't indicate an great wealth-
"Administration of the estate of Alexander Henry late of Beltonanean County Tyrone Farmer who died 27 December 1896 granted at Armagh to Thomas Henry Farmer." Effects £19 10s. Granted 10/2/1905.
www.proni.gov.uk

The Will wasn't probated for over 8 years but I can't see a death registered for an Alexander Henry in 1896/7.

By the time of the 1911 census there are a few Henrys in Beltonanean: http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Tyrone/Ballynasollus/Beltonanean/860130/
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!

Offline kingskerswell

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 09 April 10 11:27 BST (UK) »
Patricia,