Author Topic: damaged photo  (Read 8769 times)

Offline sandie

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
damaged photo
« on: Monday 28 March 05 14:42 BST (UK) »
I wanted to post a copy of a photo I'm trying to repair in order to ask all you experts for some advice.  The trouble is, when I reduce the file to less than 500 it goes all 'blocky' so I can't attach - any ideas how I get my picture small enough to send?
As you can probably tell, I'm not very good with computers!
Regards
Sandie
Lewis & Davies in Glam.
Richards & Roberts,  in Carmarthen & Glam.
Bowen & Morgans in Carm.
Walters & Mort in Glam.
Dinmore, in SE London (prev.Surrey & Kent), Lowestoft & Yorks.
Collier/Collyer, Tyler & Welch in SE London(prev.Surrey)

All census transcriptions are Crown Copyright

Offline deadants

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: damaged photo
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 29 March 05 02:22 BST (UK) »
Hi sandie,
     First off, what software  are you using to change the size of your photo's? Second can you scan the photo to a high resolution, 300dpi or greater?

Here's a link to a tutorial for resizing images. http://www.ibdhost.com/help/optimize/

deadants

Cleary, Doran, Boland, McCooey, McManus, O'brien, Martin, Savage, Wallis, McCollister, Wood.  (More to come soon)

Offline YukonHall

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 29 March 05 02:52 BST (UK) »
When I got my scanner I got a very simple program with it to fix photographs.  I've played with it for a while and I can do a reasonable good job.  If you have a scanner explore the functions on the disk that came with it.  Mine is called Photoimpression 4 - takes a lot of memory - but is sort of idiot proof.  I am not computer literate either (every day is a learning curve for me).  Also sending photographs - my hotmail account gave me a free program for this and it makes it easy to do.

By the way my house is now cluttered with blown up old photos of my family - I need more walls!