Author Topic: Tolka Cottages, Drumcondra, Dublin  (Read 17635 times)

Offline Harry1968

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Tolka Cottages, Drumcondra, Dublin
« on: Friday 17 September 10 15:25 BST (UK) »
Hello,

I am new to Roots Chap.  This is my first post.

Would anybody know when Tolka Cottages in Drumcondra, Dublin,  were built.

I know they appear on the 1911 Census for Dublin, but they do not see to appear on the 1901.

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: Tolka Cottages, Drumcondra, Dublin
« Reply #1 on: Friday 17 September 10 16:14 BST (UK) »
I'm not sure that it's the same location as the 1911 census but there's a Tolka Cottages near Finglas ... based on the OSI maps these were definitely not present in the 1890s, so built sometime after that see : Tolka Cottages, Finglas  (press 1 for the modern map, 8 for the 1890s map)

The streets listed in the Drumcondra DED along with Tolka Cottages on the 1911 look to be located a bit to the east of this... so maybe there was another location of the same name ? 

Sometimes newer cottages are listed on the 1901 census under temporary names - like UDC or township cottages etc, or just included as part of the existing road they were off.

Shane

Remember to check the Resource boards :  Ireland, Dublin, Antrim & Cork (and stickies at the top of other county sub-forums)    
My Surname Interests

Offline Harry1968

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 17 September 10 17:38 BST (UK) »
Thank you Shane,

Unfortunately, I do not think these are the ones I am looking for.  The Tolka Cottages in Finglas are sometimes confused with the ones in Drumcondra.

The Drumcondra cottages were pulled down circa 1950 due to persistent flooding problems in the area.