Author Topic: Essex parish records online - project  (Read 29803 times)

Offline helvissa

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Essex parish records online - project
« on: Thursday 07 October 10 09:28 BST (UK) »
Hi all,

I didn't want to post this in the resources section because I've only just started the website and so it's not a particularly useful resource currently!

I've got several microfiche of parish registers for Essex (and Suffolk) and as there's really not a great deal online for the parishes I'm interested in, I thought I'd rectify that! (and being born in Essex, I suppose it's a tribute to the county I grew up in). I'm a librarian and I run a couple of sites so it seemed like a natural thing to do, really (I work in the same building as several microfiche readers so you can guess what I spend my lunchtimes doing!). I was inspired in part by a site I found for parish registers in Somerset:
http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~colinsgenealogy/Udevsite/
I thought it was really nice of Colin to put all that online, and I found it very useful when looking for my Somerset line - so I thought I'd give something back and fill some gaps in online provision of Essex records.

This is a work in progress and once I've come up with a snappy name for it I'll change the header, and there's other bits and bobs that need to be tweaked, but so you can see what I'm up to, have a butchers here:
http://helvissa.com/parishrecords/

So far I've got Great Bromley baptisms 1800 to 1806 online (I'll do the name indexes later), and I've got permission from Acton in Suffolk to publish transcripts of their records. I'm waiting to hear from St Osyth and Weeley if they'll give me permission to publish the transcripts online. I'm going to be getting some records for Great Horksley, West Bergholt, East Donyland and Layer-de-la-Haye, at some point.