Author Topic: What did a railway gatekeeper do?  (Read 21240 times)

Offline GrizzlyDad

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
What did a railway gatekeeper do?
« on: Thursday 07 October 10 16:53 BST (UK) »
My ancestor, John Botterill, was listed as a railway gatekeeper in Driffield in the 1851, 1861 and 1871 censuses. What did that involve?

Was it just a manually operated level crossing? Did he just come out when the train was due and close the gate to traffic? What happened through the night? Presumably he couldn't leave home. What it seen as a good job?

I have no knowledge about this at all so any help is very welcome.

Offline stanmapstone

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: What did a railway gatekeeper do?
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 07 October 10 16:56 BST (UK) »
Railway Gate Keepers usually had a house next to the level crossing, and was permanently based there, he opened and closed the gates as required.
See
http://www.flickr.com/photos/d9006/3475502367/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/d9006/3867650873/
Stan
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline stanmapstone

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 07 October 10 17:09 BST (UK) »
From "A Dictionary of Occupational Terms"
Crossing Keeper, level crossing keeper, gatekeeper, gateman, level crossing man; in charge of a level crossing on a railway line, opening and closing gates by hand worked mechanism, or by hand, for the passage of trains, or for passage of road vehicles and (sometimes) pedestrians; sometimes also lights, trims and cleans lamps on crossing gates; performs duties of crossing policeman, flag man, signal gateman, or of gatekeeper and pointsman.

Stan
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline t mo

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Thursday 07 October 10 17:40 BST (UK) »
hi grizzlydad