Author Topic: Help from Guernsey  (Read 15262 times)

Offline Allan_Jean

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Help from Guernsey
« on: Saturday 09 October 10 16:38 BST (UK) »
Hi, I have only just joined this website and people have already helped me. So if I can help anyone with info from Guernsey I would be pleased to do so. But please remember I am a complete novice at this but having had my appetite wetted in doing research for my wife's ancestry I have enjoyed the digging in archives very much.

Offline Ringrose

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Help from Guernsey
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 09 October 10 20:22 BST (UK) »
hi allan Jean  and welcome to rootschat. I have ancestors in Guernsey and my only way of finding out more was to visit the island in April. I visited the record office who were very helpful and I came home with a load of records, Im sure otrhers not in the position to visit will be thrilled at your offer opf help---you may be inundated.
Ringrose
Mann Ringrose Prior( West London)Prior (Halstead Colchester and Sudbury)Ringrose (Northants) Clark(sussex  Bath)Light(Shropshire West London)Barber(Northants)Gaudern (Northants)Piper(Suffolk)Carter (Essex)Nightingale,Stiles,Dunk,Hedgecock(Kent)Mann(south Devon )Le Cronier,Le Quesne,Poingdestre,Esnouf,Le Guyt,Anley.Le Carteret(Jersey)Clark(Bath,Batcombe,and Nyland )
er(essex)Nightingale(kent Sussex)Sutton (sussex)

Offline horatiosdaughter

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Look Up Request Guernsey
« Reply #2 on: Monday 25 October 10 21:12 BST (UK) »
Hi Allan_Jean

Thank you for offering to look up the archive.  I am longing to find out more about my g.g.g.grandfather Octavius Toulmin PITTER b. around 1800-1808 in St Peter Port.    His parents were Thomas Pitter and Catherine Toulmin.  I would really appreciate any baptism info you can find.