Author Topic: Much Woolton - Sarah Hamer - COMPLETED  (Read 3662 times)

Offline nuttyal

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Much Woolton - Sarah Hamer - COMPLETED
« on: Friday 22 October 10 11:20 BST (UK) »
Hello to everyone,

I am a newbie and have hit the proverbial "Brick Wall" already!

I am looking for the birth details of my great-grandmother Sarah Ann Hamer.

She married my great-grandfather John Torrans Kynes in March 1878.

Her stated age on the marriage certificate is 21 which puts her birth year as 1857.

Her father is Charles Hamer who is stated as being deceased at time of marriage; given profession is "chimney sweeper".  I think his birth year is 1833 and place of birth in Manchester.

I have tried the main BMD indexes and received back one certificate that shows wrong father (Ralph Hamer).  I found another reference to a Sarah Hamer from Westleigh, Wigan but the Register Office in Wigan can find no trace of my request........... "Brick Wall"!!

I found Sarah Ann on the 1861 census, but her given age there is 2 years and surname shows as Hamers so I have discrepancies there! 

I have suspicion that she was born in Much Woolton district of Liverpool.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in anticipation.

Allan
Kynes (Liverpool & Ireland), Hamer (Liverpool), Poplett (Acton, London), Carr (Arbroath)

Offline garstonite

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Much Woolton - Sarah Hamer
« Reply #1 on: Friday 22 October 10 13:39 BST (UK) »
on freebmd is
mar qtr 1857 Sarah Ann Hamer  West Derby 8b 285
she`s not on Lancsbmd or lan-opc though
I live 2 miles from Woolton ...which was Much Woolton.....used to be under Prescot area for registration...but the old Much Woolton area included Childwall which is now under West Derby district
allan :)