Author Topic: Waterloo lookup - John William Mills  (Read 3804 times)

Offline eramophla

• RootsChat Senior
  • Hello from Australia.
    • View Profile
Waterloo lookup - John William Mills
« on: Thursday 27 January 11 05:31 GMT (UK) »
My 3x great grandfather was a soldier in the Sihk Wars in India in the 1850s. We have much evidence to this fact.

Family legend goes, however, that his parents did not want him to become a soldier, and this had to do with his father's experiences at the Battle of Waterloo. His father was a veternarian by trade, and the story goes that he did not fight at the Battle, but had the responsibility of looking after the horses. We have no evidence at this time to prove that this story is true, so I am now trying to locate some evidence to determine the truth one way or the other.

The man who the story claims should have been at the Battle of Waterloo was named John William Mills, born on 12/7/1790 in Dedham, Essex, to Munson and Jane Mills. He was baptised in Dedham on 19/12/1790. We have no information on his life between the years of 1790 and 1823 - the Battle of Waterloo took place during this time. I am aware that there were approximately 15-16 men known by the name of John Mills at the battle.

John William Mills would marry three times in his life, 1st - to Sarah Bird in c1823 (location unknown at this stage - possibly Nayland, Suffolk), 2nd - to Sarah Polley in c1830 and 3rd - to Rebecca Hall on 2/3/1848 at Stoke by Nayland, Suffolk. John  would have 6 children altogether (3 to his 1st wife and 3 to his second). Their names are William Munson (our Sihk war soldier), George, Augustine Herbert, Walter John Polley, Coburg and Victoria. All were born in Nayland, Suffolk.

John William Mills would die in Nayland, Suffolk on 2/10/1865 and was buried in the same town on 6/10/1865.

If anyone is prepared to do a Battle of Waterloo look up to see if this man is located in the list, I would greatly appreciate it.