Author Topic: Help, where have I gone wrong.  (Read 6045 times)

Offline Helina

  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,335
  • Willow
    • View Profile
Help, where have I gone wrong.
« on: Wednesday 09 February 11 02:08 GMT (UK) »
Spent 3 hours yesterday changing from mobile board band to home board band.  Everything thing went went well with the aid of the CD provided.

Have 2 icons on my desktop with detail connections, lights all working that should be working on the router and while the yellow lead is attached to the router and laptop the internet is working, but the moment it is disconnected I lose internet connection.

Phoned the server a number of times and yes the connection has gone though,  they are now muttering that my firewall is turned off, have checked firewall and as far as I can see its on. They also mentioned something about wireless knob on my keyboard to be turned on, am at a loss to which one.

Any help would be appreciated but please keep it simple as not very technical minded.


helina

I,m at a loss what to do
Austin,Bistol
Coole,Bristol
Lewis, Bristol
Williams,Olveston
Howard,Bristol
Shepherd Admonsbury.
Tinney, Plymouth.
Ogborn,Bristol.
Blore.Derbyshire,Bristol,Redditch.
Richards,Bristol
Milson, Bitton
Harrison, Derbyshire
Census information Crown Copyright  from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline PrueM

  • RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 12,637
  • Please don't try to PM me :)
    • View Profile
Re: Help, where have I gone wrong.
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 09 February 11 03:31 GMT (UK) »
Hi Helina :)

I'm not an expert by any means, so hopefully someone with more knowledge than me will be along soon to sort you out properly, but in the meantime...

It sounds to me as though you do not have wireless internet access set up on your computer yet.  So basically your modem is all set up, and you are able to access the internet when it is plugged in to your computer, but if the cable is unplugged between modem and computer, you lose your access.

You will need to set up wireless internet access.  Have a look on the setup CD again and see if there are instructions on there.  There might also be somewhere in your Control Panels (on the computer) where you can set this up.

The technical people will probably want to know which operating system you are using so if you can post that I'm sure they'd appreciate it (Windows7, Vista, Mac OSX etc.)

Cheers
Prue

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline Helina

  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,335
  • Willow
    • View Profile
Re: Help, where have I gone wrong.
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 09 February 11 06:09 GMT (UK) »
Thanks Prue,

Have gone step by step with the aid of the CD from beginning to end, also the server team have taken me in and out of the control panal etc.   The last time the man said it was firewall preventing the wireless to work without the cable.  As for this wireless button???  I only have one button on the modem and that one is the on and off button.

My computer is vista.

I'll will have another look at the CD to see if thereis something missing.
 
Thanks again.

helina   ??? ???

Austin,Bistol
Coole,Bristol
Lewis, Bristol
Williams,Olveston
Howard,Bristol
Shepherd Admonsbury.
Tinney, Plymouth.
Ogborn,Bristol.
Blore.Derbyshire,Bristol,Redditch.
Richards,Bristol
Milson, Bitton
Harrison, Derbyshire
Census information Crown Copyright  from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Calverley Lad

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,489
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Help, where have I gone wrong.
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday 09 February 11 06:40 GMT (UK) »
Helina could it be the wireless on laptop is turned off?
My wife has a Toshiba, there is a slider switch on the front face which disables the wireless side.
(What make/model of laptop do you have)
 Brian
Yewdall/Yewdell/Youdall -Yorkshire

Offline [Ray]

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 5,873
  • UK Census information Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
Re: Help, where have I gone wrong.
« Reply #4 on: Wednesday 09 February 11 06:41 GMT (UK) »
Hi

In the absence of any other ideas, some obvious questions to start with..................

They've supplied you with a wireless router, Not just a b/band non-wireless modem?

(Presumably your (previous) mobile connection was via a USB "dongle"?)
Your laptop has a wireless capability? (and not a vista upgrade on an older non-wireless laptop)

Assuming yes to the above, you will need to logon to the (wireless) router via a network cable to check that wireless functionality is present and activated. (you should have documentation for that either cd or booklet)
Assuming you have a network cable that is.
connecting via a cable to the router shaould also get you a connection to the internet

Shall we call this part 1 and start part 2 once you confirm the above.

Ray


Amended - my HP has a similar switch to the one Brian mentioned
"The wise man knows how little he knows, the foolish man does not". My Grandfather & Father.

"You canít give kindness away.  It keeps coming back". Mark Twain (?).

Offline Helina

  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,335
  • Willow
    • View Profile
Re: Help, where have I gone wrong.
« Reply #5 on: Wednesday 09 February 11 10:11 GMT (UK) »
Brain, you may well be correct, they were on about turning the wirless on, but could not find where† ??? ??? Excuse spelling but mine is a simens.

Ray I.m at the library at present so will have to check when I get home. Yes my previous was a dongle but before that I had a a router/modem.
Thanks

helina
Austin,Bistol
Coole,Bristol
Lewis, Bristol
Williams,Olveston
Howard,Bristol
Shepherd Admonsbury.
Tinney, Plymouth.
Ogborn,Bristol.
Blore.Derbyshire,Bristol,Redditch.
Richards,Bristol
Milson, Bitton
Harrison, Derbyshire
Census information Crown Copyright  from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Helina

  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,335
  • Willow
    • View Profile
Re: Help, where have I gone wrong.
« Reply #6 on: Wednesday 09 February 11 14:37 GMT (UK) »
Now that I am home my computer is a Fujitsu Siemens laptop

All I know I have home board band and when I phoned the server there was no mention that I may have the wrong board band.

helina
Austin,Bistol
Coole,Bristol
Lewis, Bristol
Williams,Olveston
Howard,Bristol
Shepherd Admonsbury.
Tinney, Plymouth.
Ogborn,Bristol.
Blore.Derbyshire,Bristol,Redditch.
Richards,Bristol
Milson, Bitton
Harrison, Derbyshire
Census information Crown Copyright  from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline [Ray]

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 5,873
  • UK Census information Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
Re: Help, where have I gone wrong.
« Reply #7 on: Wednesday 09 February 11 14:49 GMT (UK) »
Helina

You're using the FujSiemens laptop now?
and you are connecting to the internet using the usb dongle?

Ray
"The wise man knows how little he knows, the foolish man does not". My Grandfather & Father.

"You canít give kindness away.  It keeps coming back". Mark Twain (?).

Offline km1971

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 9,343
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Help, where have I gone wrong.
« Reply #8 on: Wednesday 09 February 11 14:50 GMT (UK) »
Are you sure your laptop has wireless? You could download a free copy of Belarc Advisor which will give you a one-page summary of your system.

If so, you should delete all connections and programs associated with them and load your new CD from statch. The mobile dongle will configure itself if you get stuck.

Ken