Author Topic: Betty Phyllis Nicholls Barry, South Glamorgan  (Read 2538 times)

Offline saundra

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Betty Phyllis Nicholls Barry, South Glamorgan
« on: Friday 22 April 05 17:56 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I am in desperate need of help, so I hope i'm doing this  right!

I'm new to this and boy have I hit a brick wall and am hoping someone can help me out.

The information I have is off her Death Certificate:  Betty Phyllis Nicholls  born Sept. 17, 1919 in Barry, South Glamorgan.

BUT my mum says that she seems to remember that her mum was actually born under the name of Lovett, Lovatt, Lovitt (not sure of the spelling) and that she was part african  but  unfortunately memories are not forth coming with accuracy. 

I have her marriage certificate showing her marrying a Josheph Henry Rollinson on the 15th of December 1943 and that shows her father as Richard Nicholls (deceased)

She has a brother named marcus and a sister named Jean (who was younger),  who are definately richard nicholls children,  but for some reason there is doubt of the father of Betty Phyllis.

I cannot find a birth record for betty,  jean or marcus so that I can get the mothers name and that is where I am stuck now.

If anyone could please help me with finding the birth mother of Betty Phyllis.

Thank you,
saundra

Offline trellisick

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Betty Phyllis Nicholls Barry, South Glamorgan
« Reply #1 on: Friday 22 April 05 18:47 BST (UK) »
hi saundra,
 i dont know if this will be of any help at all as i only possess the 1897 directory for barry, but in that year there were four nicholls families;-
            george labourer 21 fryatt street

charles coaltrimmer 11 kingsland cres.

william t.  signalman seaview road

henry 29 kenilworth rd.

there are no lovett, lovatt, or lovitts in this year.