Author Topic: Copies of wills held at Blandford  (Read 6606 times)

Offline Richard Spicer

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Copies of wills held at Blandford
« on: Thursday 30 June 11 17:03 BST (UK) »
Hi all.

I am new to Rootschat and my name is Richard Spicer, I live in Bedfordshire.
I would like to purchase copies of the wills of the Clavell family of Winfrith Newburgh which are held at Blandford.
How do I order copies of the wills and what do they cost.

Thank you
Richard Spicer

Researching the SPICER family of Winfrith Newburgh and Osmington.
The CLAVELL, SLADE and COX families of Winfrith Newburgh.
The CULL family of Corfe Castle and East Lulworth.

Offline Redroger

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dad and Fireman at Kings Cross 13.7.1951
    • View Profile
Re: Copies of wills held at Blandford
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 30 June 11 18:40 BST (UK) »
To my knowledge as a Dorset researcher there are no wills held in Blandford. What dates are you referring to? If 1731 or earlier there is a potential problem in that the town was destroyed by fire in that year. However, if you contact the Dorset history centre they may be able to help. If your will is before 1731 DON'T LET THEM PUT YOU OFF! I obtained a will from them for a likely ancestor dated 1671 which had survived the fire, though it is badly singed along one side.
Ayres Brignell Cornwell Harvey Shipp  Stimpson Stubbings (all Cambs) Baumber Baxter Burton Ethards Proctor Stanton (all Lincs) Luffman (all counties)

Offline Richard Spicer

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 30 June 11 19:23 BST (UK) »
Hi Redroger
From the Dorset Resources and Offers page.
http://www.rootschat.com/forum/index.php/topic,529132.0.html