Author Topic: sky remote interference  (Read 6131 times)

Offline jc26red

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 4,740
  • Census information Crown Copyright.
    • View Profile
sky remote interference
« on: Monday 01 August 11 20:07 BST (UK) »
Hi folks...

sorry about the subject heading its a little misleading.
I have a problem which I need some advice on sorting please.

I have sky+ hd box in my living room and a second old Sky + box which up till recently was in the next room. Anyway, the second box went faulty and we upgraded it to a second HD box...
Now, we use the second box to stream tv (via a slingbox) to our apartment in the middle east.† All was ok till the upgrade.† Both boxes use the same remote and because of the close proximity of the boxes, the one in the living room is also turning over the second HD box!!! Its very disconcerting to see the tv changing channels on its own! We dismissed a hacker after realising the programs it changed to are the ones our daughter watches

 We can't move the second box any further due to internet and sky connectivity cables.
We have "hidden" the second box behind a chair and facing the wall and its still responding to the other remote :(

Any ideas on how to shield the second box from being operated by box 1 remote

all suggestions much appreciated.... thanks

Jenny
Please acknowledge when a restorer works on your photos, it can take hours for them to work their magic

Please scan at 300dpi minimum to help save the restorers eyesight.

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline stevieuk

  • RootsChat Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: sky remote interference
« Reply #1 on: Monday 01 August 11 20:21 BST (UK) »
You`ll have to forgive me, I don`t use/own a Slingbox.

But from what I understand the Slingbox simply relays the Skybox signals onwards to another destination (Simplest and best description I can come up with).

You could try to shield the Skybox you want/need to use abroad with Aluminum foil?

I don`t know what the Sky HD box uses as its transmitted signals IR/Wireless/Bluetooth etc.

I think I`d seek advice from Sky....Using the simply question "We have two Sky HD boxes but the controllers are interfering? How do we fix this problem?" I would not mention the Slingbox though.. ;)

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline jc26red

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 4,740
  • Census information Crown Copyright.
    • View Profile
Re: sky remote interference
« Reply #2 on: Monday 01 August 11 20:35 BST (UK) »
thanks Steve....
Foil was our next move but haven't tried it yet, daughter has called back to say if she has done it yet.

Slingbox is legal.... we pay for our sky subs and tv license at our house, all we are doing is streaming one box over the internet to another location.  It also works to other rooms in the house...  no problem.  It can only be watched at one location at a time and I think this gets round all the licensing stuff.  Picture isn't perfect due to broadband width this end but better than watching prayer time for the whole of Rammadan  :o

 might try another specialist forum before sky though, if the foil doesn't work.

thanks again
Jenny
Please acknowledge when a restorer works on your photos, it can take hours for them to work their magic

Please scan at 300dpi minimum to help save the restorers eyesight.

Offline jc26red

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 4,740
  • Census information Crown Copyright.
    • View Profile
Re: sky remote interference
« Reply #3 on: Monday 01 August 11 20:39 BST (UK) »
Just checked, the sky remote is IR operated.
Please acknowledge when a restorer works on your photos, it can take hours for them to work their magic

Please scan at 300dpi minimum to help save the restorers eyesight.

Offline stevieuk

  • RootsChat Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: sky remote interference
« Reply #4 on: Monday 01 August 11 21:02 BST (UK) »
If it is IR, then there should not be any interference.

Doors/walls should easily block the signals.

IR signals are pretty much "Line of sight".

Strange?

I`m minded to block the IR receiving eye of the HD box and slingbox, shouldn`t need much more that a piece of tape/card.

Steve

Offline jc26red

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 4,740
  • Census information Crown Copyright.
    • View Profile
Re: sky remote interference
« Reply #5 on: Monday 01 August 11 21:08 BST (UK) »
Thats what we thought when we turned the box to the wall and put a heavy armchair in front of it!

We can't tape over the IR sensor on the sky box because the slingbox has two IR sensors placed in front of the sky box remote sensor. The slingbox software remote sends signals to the IR sensors to operate the skybox, so it needs to be clear.

Jenny
Please acknowledge when a restorer works on your photos, it can take hours for them to work their magic

Please scan at 300dpi minimum to help save the restorers eyesight.

Offline stevieuk

  • RootsChat Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: sky remote interference
« Reply #6 on: Monday 01 August 11 21:17 BST (UK) »
Can you not place the Slingbox & Skybox so they are facing each other and shield the signals with card & tape.

I`m thinking of as an example two cars parked front on to each other with a shroud over their bonnets so when their light are on, they can only shine on each other and nowhere else, a bit like a tunnel effect. It`ll be a trial and error thing.

Offline jc26red

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 4,740
  • Census information Crown Copyright.
    • View Profile
Re: sky remote interference
« Reply #7 on: Tuesday 02 August 11 07:36 BST (UK) »
Hi Steve, thanks for your efforts... still waiting for daughter to try the foil† ::)
Creating a tunnel isn't really necessary, this is the IR setup... we have already thrown a towel over it all to see if thats enough to shield the sensor but it didn't work.† Next, we are going to try putting the skybox in a box (with vent holes at the back) then covering it with foil....

Its so annoying as I was at home in the UK doing the setup last week and only came back on Saturday and OH didn't notice there was a problem, I did notice the skybox "on" led was lit rather alot and asked him about it but it didn't click that the channels were changing and not where he left off† ::)

Jenny
Please acknowledge when a restorer works on your photos, it can take hours for them to work their magic

Please scan at 300dpi minimum to help save the restorers eyesight.

Offline [Ray]

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 5,885
  • UK Census information Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
Re: sky remote interference
« Reply #8 on: Tuesday 02 August 11 08:20 BST (UK) »
Hi

How have you connected it all to the satelllite dish?
Separate pairs of cables to each Sky box?
ie 4 (separately connected) cables from the satellite dish 4-way LNB, 2 to box1 and 2 to box2?
Or is it just a pair of cables which you have then split?


R


"The wise man knows how little he knows, the foolish man does not". My Grandfather & Father.

"You canít give kindness away.  It keeps coming back". Mark Twain (?).