Author Topic: Patrick Ward  (Read 2658 times)

Offline TforMcNab

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Patrick Ward
« on: Tuesday 09 August 11 12:46 BST (UK) »
I know I am probably looking for a needle in a haystack, but does anyone have any suggestions as to where to look for Patrick Ward, born about 1786 in Belfast, immigrating to Nova Scotia (probably through New England) in 1810?  I have no background for him but his children were named Joshua and Diademia and his wife is said to be Judy - I have no surname for her.  Thanks for your time.

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Patrick Ward
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 09 August 11 12:51 BST (UK) »
Very difficult since few church records survive pre-1800. Do you know where in Nova Scotia Patrick settled? Diademia (and variants is a fairly common girls name in my Nova Scotia families so the name may have been acquired in canada rqather than being a Ward family name).

Have a look at Introduction to Irish Records and My Ancestor came from Ireland - where do I start?.
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!

Offline TforMcNab

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 09 August 11 13:10 BST (UK) »
He appears to have come through New England with a gentleman by the name of Lutheran Morris.  Their children married into each other's families.  Patrick settled first at Apple River, Cumberland County, Nova Scotia, and then finally settled down in Advocate Harbour, Cumberland County, Nova Scotia.  He is my greatx4-grandfather.  Family legend says he was military and I found two land grants given to a Patrick Ward in other areas of the province but he never settled on them and they were escheated back to the Crown.

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Tuesday 09 August 11 13:23 BST (UK) »