Author Topic: Family Tree Maker 2006  (Read 9963 times)

Offline crackel

  • RootsChat Extra
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Family Tree Maker 2006
« Reply #27 on: Wednesday 05 October 11 12:41 BST (UK) »
Ewan excuse the mis-spelling of "since".

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline Ewan

  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,287
    • View Profile
Re: Family Tree Maker 2006
« Reply #28 on: Wednesday 05 October 11 14:07 BST (UK) »
Crackel, I don't know what some of us would do without the help of downside, really.

Okay then I typed in E\:Setup.exe and after clicking on 'next' as told by the wizard I got this message - 'The specified path does not contain a valid program.† Please select a valid program (ending with .exe).'

 ???

I tried typing it in lower case, upper case to see if there was any difference. ???

Ewan

 

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline [Ray]

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 5,852
  • UK Census information Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
Re: Family Tree Maker 2006
« Reply #29 on: Wednesday 05 October 11 16:04 BST (UK) »
 ::) ::)

...     E:\setup.exe
not   E\:setup.exe

R
"The wise man knows how little he knows, the foolish man does not". My Grandfather & Father.

"You canít give kindness away.  It keeps coming back". Mark Twain (?).

Offline Ewan

  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,287
    • View Profile
Re: Family Tree Maker 2006
« Reply #30 on: Wednesday 05 October 11 16:57 BST (UK) »
R, thanks for your help as well.

I did type as downside suggested, and then I typed variations of it.

When I replied to downside I had obviously mis typed it to read E\:setup.exe, but meaning E:\setup.exe

I am intrigued though to know what happens next when the 'specified path is typed in' and it contains a valid program.

Ewan

Offline [Ray]

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 5,852
  • UK Census information Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
Re: Family Tree Maker 2006
« Reply #31 on: Wednesday 05 October 11 17:06 BST (UK) »
Hi

If you "Explore" the cd you will notice (hopefully only one) the .exe used to (initiate) install.

On the FTM CD I have here it is
"deluxe_flashUK.exe"

OR

If you "Explore" the cd you will notice (hopefully only one) the "autorun,inf" file.
Rightclick it and you will see something like

[autorun]
OPEN=deluxe_flashUK.exe

Of course the OPEN maybe pointing to an exe in another folder
OPEN=D:\FTM\deluxe_flashUK.exe

OR

E: may not be your CD Drive

 ???


Ray

"The wise man knows how little he knows, the foolish man does not". My Grandfather & Father.

"You canít give kindness away.  It keeps coming back". Mark Twain (?).

Offline Ewan

  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,287
    • View Profile
Re: Family Tree Maker 2006
« Reply #32 on: Wednesday 05 October 11 17:28 BST (UK) »

If you "Explore" the cd you will notice (hopefully only one) the "autorun,inf" file.
Rightclick it and you will see something like

[autorun]
OPEN=deluxe_flashUK.exe

Of course the OPEN maybe pointing to an exe in another folder
OPEN=D:\FTM\deluxe_flashUK.exe


On the CD to install it has - D:\Setup.exe (substitute D for the letter of your CD drive if different)† So when trying to install this program I have substituted the D for an E.

R not sure what you mean by right click, what do I right click?

Offline [Ray]

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 5,852
  • UK Census information Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
Re: Family Tree Maker 2006
« Reply #33 on: Wednesday 05 October 11 17:45 BST (UK) »
Apologies.

Rightclick it (the "autorun.inf" file) and open it with notepad................


R
"The wise man knows how little he knows, the foolish man does not". My Grandfather & Father.

"You canít give kindness away.  It keeps coming back". Mark Twain (?).

Offline Ewan

  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,287
    • View Profile
Re: Family Tree Maker 2006
« Reply #34 on: Wednesday 05 October 11 17:50 BST (UK) »
Thanks R

I am beginning to think now that installing this program on a 64 bit computer is not going to be possible.

Ewan

Offline ajf25

  • RootsChat Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 564
  • David John Hawker
    • View Profile
Re: Family Tree Maker 2006
« Reply #35 on: Wednesday 05 October 11 23:35 BST (UK) »
I am beginning to think now that installing this program on a 64 bit computer is not going to be possible.
Ewan
According to the following link
http://pastftm.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/pastftm.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=2777

This is taken from that site:

"Family Tree Maker 2005, 2006 & 16 Update for Windows Vista & Windows 7
 
† Question
† I recently updated to Windows Vista or Windows 7, but now I find certain functions in Family Tree Maker (specifically PDFs, like when I export a book) stop working. Do you have an update to fix this problem?
 
† Answer
† Most features on Family Tree Maker are unaffected by the newer versions of Microsoft Windows, Windows Vista & Windows 7 . However, certain aspects (like exporting a view, book, or tree to PDF) will not function without an important update for your copy of Family Tree Maker. This update is completely free, and steps for updating your program are given in this article.


Note: These versions of Family Tree Maker are not Vista or Windows 7 64 bit compatible. This article and patch will only work for Vista or Windows 7 32 bit. "


Regards,
Alison† †:'(