Author Topic: Charlotte Martin  (Read 4799 times)

Offline ag10

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Charlotte Martin
« on: Tuesday 10 May 05 16:44 BST (UK) »
As a beginner I'd appreciate a little advice.

I'd like to find the exact birth date for Charlotte Martin (details below), but I live in South Wales so I can't visit the locality, and I don't know how to go about it - or even if it's possible.

Charlotte Martin. Born 1877 at Humberstone. Father Henry Martin, mother Harriet.

Any hope?

Thanks for any suggestions - Al

Offline Keziahemm

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Charlotte Martin
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 10 May 05 17:03 BST (UK) »
Hi,

Welcome to Rootschat  :D

You will need the birth certificate - this can be obtained from the GRO and will cost £7.00 you can apply online on the 1837online site for certificates.  Alternatively the local Register Office for the area she was born could supply certificate again this would cost £7.00.

If the GRO can't find the person in the register in dates specified they will refund part of fee (£3/4 ?).

Sometimes the local office is a better bet.

Susan
Herefordshire: Mytton.
Lincs: Ingham
Northants: Knight (Welford); Linnell;  Gaudern.
Staffs (Brierley Hill, Kingswinford): Wood; Eades.
Somerset: Bailey; Lewis
Warwickshire: (Alcester, Henley in Arden) Lewis; Casey/Keasey
Warwickshire (Birmingham suburbs) Knight
Yorkshire (Bradford):  Ingham

Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov

Offline Arranroots

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 10 May 05 19:05 BST (UK) »
Hi

This seems to be the reference you will need to apply for the birth cert:

Charlotte MARTIN Billesdon reg district September quarter of 1876 7a 25