Author Topic: Converting a GFT or GEDCOM to '5.5 or higher'  (Read 10412 times)

Offline David in Devon

  • RootsChat Extra
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Converting a GFT or GEDCOM to '5.5 or higher'
« on: Wednesday 25 January 12 15:57 GMT (UK) »
Does anyone know how?

I've got my tree on a .GFT file from Family Tree v2.0a and i've saved it as a GEDCOM.  Now the new app won't read it because it's not a high enough version.

Can anyone help me out?

PM me and i'll send it over.

Thanks

David


RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline [Ray]

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 5,837
  • UK Census information Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
Re: Converting a GFT or GEDCOM to '5.5 or higher'
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 26 January 12 10:13 GMT (UK) »

"Job Complete"

 :)
"The wise man knows how little he knows, the foolish man does not". My Grandfather & Father.

"You canít give kindness away.  It keeps coming back". Mark Twain (?).

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.


Offline David in Devon

  • RootsChat Extra
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Converting a GFT or GEDCOM to '5.5 or higher'
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 26 January 12 13:46 GMT (UK) »
Thanks Ray - you are a Star!† †8)

Job done.

Offline emmawatcham

  • RootsChat Extra
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Converting a GFT or GEDCOM to '5.5 or higher'
« Reply #3 on: Saturday 12 May 12 17:53 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I have the same problem as David and have two trees from Family Tree v2.0a, which I did some research on and found I needed to save them as gedcom files in order to open with Family Tree Maker 2012. But when I try and open them I get an error message saying they need to be version 5.5 or higher.

Could anyone help me out as well?

I can send the files over by pm

Many thanks
Emma

Offline falcybe

  • RootsChat Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 839
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Converting a GFT or GEDCOM to '5.5 or higher'
« Reply #4 on: Saturday 12 May 12 18:33 BST (UK) »
Emma,

You will need to make a minimum of 3 posts before you can use the pm feature. And then you will have to ask for the kind soul's email address because (unless I am mistaken) files cannot be attached to pms

cheers, falcybe (and welcome to RC :-) )

And if you want to know more about getting the best from Rootschat then click on help at the top of this page and browse through the different topics
Hayden Cowan Weir Jowett Barclay Howard Gooch Joiner Rayner Ash Travers Coltman Samuel Falconer Lacey Croton Clarke Robinson Alden Burroughs
Ford Lusty Jones Wice Wise Scorey Rayner Harding Bacon Chambers and lots more
Click on the little house on the left to go to our site

Offline emmawatcham

  • RootsChat Extra
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Converting a GFT or GEDCOM to '5.5 or higher'
« Reply #5 on: Saturday 12 May 12 19:09 BST (UK) »
Ok, sorry I didn't know what the rules were. I've searched online for absolutely ages for a solution to my problem and I was so pleased to see someone else had had the same issue and got it fixed, that I wrote this I guess without fully understanding the rules or the way personal messaging works as I'm new.

That's a real shame, back to the drawing board I guess :-(

Offline Falkyrn

  • RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 8,048
  • Cuimhnichibh air na daoine bho'n d'thainig sibh
    • View Profile
Re: Converting a GFT or GEDCOM to '5.5 or higher'
« Reply #6 on: Saturday 12 May 12 21:03 BST (UK) »
Ok, sorry I didn't know what the rules were. I've searched online for absolutely ages for a solution to my problem and I was so pleased to see someone else had had the same issue and got it fixed, that I wrote this I guess without fully understanding the rules or the way personal messaging works as I'm new.

That's a real shame, back to the drawing board I guess :-(

It's not a problem .... 1 more post and you are at the "magic number" for the PM system BUT if you contact me directly via the email address (little envelope icon) under my avatar I'll see what I can do.
Cuimhnichibh air na daoine bho'n d'thainig sibh

Offline [Ray]

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 5,837
  • UK Census information Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
Re: Converting a GFT or GEDCOM to '5.5 or higher'
« Reply #7 on: Sunday 13 May 12 07:50 BST (UK) »
Hi Emma

Just reply to this post (say something like "hello"† ;D ).
That will be your third posting and the personal message facility for you will free up.

I can then send you my email address.


Cheers

Ray

ps WELCOME to Rootschat !


"The wise man knows how little he knows, the foolish man does not". My Grandfather & Father.

"You canít give kindness away.  It keeps coming back". Mark Twain (?).

Offline emmawatcham

  • RootsChat Extra
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Converting a GFT or GEDCOM to '5.5 or higher'
« Reply #8 on: Sunday 13 May 12 08:56 BST (UK) »
Thanks so much. Really appreciate your help.