Author Topic: Larkin/Fallon  (Read 3746 times)

Offline emmdee

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Larkin/Fallon
« on: Monday 06 August 12 20:31 BST (UK) »
I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions for me.  I'm trying to find information about my Larkin ancestors and I've checked a lot of Laois records with no luck so far.

My g-grandfather was named Joseph Larkin, born 1827, and one of his children's baptism record (Roman Catholic and in Latin) says that he is from "Hibernia (Queens)", which I'm assuming means the Laois of today.
His marriage record says that his parents' names were Patrick Larkin and Mary Fallon and that's about all I know.  I have no knowledge of any siblings or his life before his marriage here in Ontario, Canada (1861).  Census records indicate that he came to Canada in 1855.

If anyone has any recommendations for me, it would be greatly appreciated.
Larkin

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: Larkin/Fallon
« Reply #1 on: Monday 06 August 12 20:50 BST (UK) »
What sources have you checked already ?

The date of birth for Joseph is quite early and the problem is that this is before the start of many parish records. You usually require a more detailed location so that you could check what records are available..

see : Introduction to Irish Records
        My Ancestor came from Ireland - where do I start?

Shane
Remember to check the Resource boards :  Ireland, Dublin, Antrim & Cork (and stickies at the top of other county sub-forums)    
My Surname Interests

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 06 August 12 21:16 BST (UK) »