Author Topic: Spinning / weaving in Armagh  (Read 8983 times)

Offline liscoole

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Mary Hall nee Nevins 28-9-1914 - 16-3-2011
    • View Profile
Spinning / weaving in Armagh
« on: Monday 15 October 12 19:43 BST (UK) »
My great great grandmother Eliza Jane McConnell stated on the 1901 census that she was born in county Armagh.

Her parents John McConnell and Ann Neill were originally from Derriaghy and married there in 1845. Both were weavers by trade. Eliza was born in 1856.

I am wondering whether the reason for them being in Armagh in 1856 was because of the weaving industry. Any ideas how I might find out more about this? I would really like to find Eliza's baptism record but have no idea which church she might have been baptised in.

many thanks
MAGEE (Dungannon Tyrone to Shankill Belfast, to Whitehouse Co Antrim,) HALL (Lisnaskea, Fermanagh to Yan Yean, Melbourne Australia) McIVOR (Whitehouse, Co Antrim), McCULLOUGH (Markethill, Armagh), DEMPSTER (Ballymena, Co Antrim to Belfast), CUMMING (Glasgow), EVANS (Llandysill, Montgomeryshire to Belfast), NEVIN/ NEVINS (Ballynahinch, Co Down to Belfast), EMMS (Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey), HURREY (Yan Yean, Whittlesea, Melbourne), FINLAY- Jane, of Co Down, m James McIvor 1867. HOBSON Tyrone

Offline gaffy

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Spinning / weaving in Armagh
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 16 October 12 06:16 BST (UK) »

Well, if you consider that the heyday of linen was from the late 1700s to the late 1800s and that County Armagh was right in the thick of the linen triangle, then there is a fair chance that this influenced where they were.

There's lots to find on the web about the historical context, the inward population movement, the transition from domestic handloom to factory powerlooms etc. Try searching with permutations of 'Armagh' 'linen triangle' 'linen history' 'weaving' 'handloom' and the likes.