Author Topic: Not loading properly/taking ages  (Read 1070 times)

Offline silvery

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,779
  • information Crown Copyright, from www.nation
    • View Profile
Not loading properly/taking ages
« on: Tuesday 04 December 12 23:15 GMT (UK) »
My laptop has tonight started to behave wonky.   Using chrome.  The timer (blue round thing) keeps turning and nothing except here is loading properly.  Roots is slightly slow.  Windows has closed on me once.   

What's going on?   

edit:   It seems to have steadied itself down just now.   

What does anyone think is the matter?
"This information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk"

Offline jc26red

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 5,345
  • Census information Crown Copyright.
    • View Profile
Re: Not loading properly/taking ages
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 04 December 12 23:28 GMT (UK) »
Do you have updates set to automatic? Sounds like your pc was doiing something else in the background for a while
Please acknowledge when a restorer works on your photos, it can take hours for them to work their magic

Please scan at 300dpi minimum to help save the restorers eyesight.

Offline silvery

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,779
  • information Crown Copyright, from www.nation
    • View Profile
Re: Not loading properly/taking ages
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 04 December 12 23:31 GMT (UK) »
Don't think I'm set to auto updates, but you never know.   I've got a feeling it was 'flash', that often really slows me down.   
And after one of the re-starts there was an update for it.   
But you've reassured me a bit, the laptop is only a couple of years old, and I was a bit worried it was going to give up on me. 
"This information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk"

Offline silvery

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,779
  • information Crown Copyright, from www.nation
    • View Profile
Re: Not loading properly/taking ages
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday 05 December 12 22:37 GMT (UK) »
At it again, very slow loading, and pictures are only half there sometimes.   Using chrome, c drive not at all full, bt homehub.       
It was alright earlier on today.   Done a system restore, restarted a couple of times and no better.   

help!

(will look in in about half an hour - driving me nuts waiting around)
"This information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk"


Offline Nick29

  • Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,273
    • View Profile
Re: Not loading properly/taking ages
« Reply #4 on: Wednesday 05 December 12 23:00 GMT (UK) »
Are you connected by wi-fi or wire ?   
RIP 1949-10th January 2013

Best Wishes,  Nick.

Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline silvery

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,779
  • information Crown Copyright, from www.nation
    • View Profile
Re: Not loading properly/taking ages
« Reply #5 on: Wednesday 05 December 12 23:07 GMT (UK) »
Wifi, and I've  just unplugged the router, and left it for a while, and it seems ok now.   I'm wondering if it's bt.   

Couldn't pin it down to anything else. 

edit:    and what a difference now!   Can't believe it. 
"This information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk"

Offline Nick29

  • Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • ********
  • Posts: 6,273
    • View Profile
Re: Not loading properly/taking ages
« Reply #6 on: Thursday 06 December 12 10:37 GMT (UK) »
You should reboot your router once a week (not any more than that).  If you don't, you can get a less-than-acceptable connection.  I'll hold back on the technical reasons  ;)
RIP 1949-10th January 2013

Best Wishes,  Nick.

Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline silvery

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,779
  • information Crown Copyright, from www.nation
    • View Profile
Re: Not loading properly/taking ages
« Reply #7 on: Saturday 08 December 12 00:25 GMT (UK) »
Well, I never knew that!    thanks for the tip.   
"This information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk"

Offline [Ray]

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 6,270
  • UK Census information Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
Re: Not loading properly/taking ages
« Reply #8 on: Saturday 08 December 12 09:27 GMT (UK) »
Scenario A
 B/Band                  domestic 
"modem+Router" -   pc kit(1 to many)
     X                          Z

Scenario B
 B/Band                      domestic 
"modem" - Router(s) -   pc kit(1 to many)
     X                Y              Z

I believe Nick described "A"
A number of people have "B"

To properly re-connect  [and gain/ensure (re-)allocated external/internal ip addresses], turn them all off, then reboot/repower them all, in (alphabetic) sequence.   


"The wise man knows how little he knows, the foolish man does not". My Grandfather & Father.

"You can’t give kindness away.  It keeps coming back". Mark Twain (?).