Author Topic: hawkers/travellers/showmen families  (Read 7154 times)

Offline opal48

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
hawkers/travellers/showmen families
« on: Monday 11 February 13 19:00 GMT (UK) »
 Trying to find information on finding Births for Hawkers/Travellers/Showmen families ,
  looked on several sites to no avail . i am particularly interested in tracing my great grandmother
  Delia Jones  also known as Minnie on the census 1901 ,she was born 1871 Shropshire, Staffordshire . Her father was Vernon Jones a Hawker by trade , she married Richard Turvill  a Hawker by trade at Sandiacre ,Derbyshire 1900 , she was noted as a spinster on the certificate but also she was noted as follows = Delia Jones ( Formerly Lock ) this could be her mothers maiden name if her parents never married , any help appreciated . :( opal48.

Offline king otg

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Re: hawkers/travellers/showmen families
« Reply #1 on: Monday 18 February 13 17:04 GMT (UK) »

In 1901 Minnie’s family is in Leicestershire with her husband, Richard FARRILL, age 32 [2971/57/26]

In 1911 he is called Richard BELL, age 45, at Sch 186, Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire.

You are descended for Vernon TAYLOR who appears, age 27, with his parents, Richard TAYLOR and Lucy [née LOCK], at Higher Bebington, Cheshire in 1861 [2637/84/20]. Here is his baptism:

GLO Chedworth bp16/12/1833 Vernon s/o William/Lucy TAYLOR, trav’g tinker of Chesterfield DBY [‘William’ is an alias for ‘Richard’ which was his regular name TL]

Vernon’s wife is given as “Eady” in 1861 which is a misspelling of “Kodi”) and they have children Louisa (5) Charlotte (4) Jane (3) and Vernon (7m):

STF Croxton bp25/11/1860 Vernon s/o Vernon/Nicoda TAYLOR, bsk.mkr passing through C