Author Topic: James Carroll  (Read 3679 times)

Offline Wexfordskid

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
James Carroll
« on: Wednesday 24 April 13 00:42 BST (UK) »
Hi there, I am new to this so I am not exactly sure how it works. I am looking for information on my great great grandfather - James Carroll - From information gathered by the census and also by family members, he lived in Talbot st. in Wexford Town Co. Wexford. His estimated year of birth is 1871 as he was 30 years old for the 1901 census. He married a Johanna Gainfort who hailed from Broadway/Ladys Island. They had several children, my great grandfather being one of them. The family have no knowledge of James Carrolls life previous to 1901. From family stories we are pretty sure he also had a twin sister. And also that they were not from Wexford town , maybe further north in wexford or even wicklow. He had relatives in Carnew named Dorcy/Darcy , who presumably owned a tailor shop in Carnew. Any kind of information would be of great interest to me. Thank you

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: James Carroll
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 24 April 13 11:43 BST (UK) »
for reference here's the family in 1901

Carroll household, Talbot St., Wexford town

James is listed as a Coachman on this census, and all the family are listed as born 'Co. Wexford'.
p.s. Maggies' age is actually 2 years, and Ellen's is 10 months 

and ten years later : 

Carroll household, 1911

All born 'Wexford', and gives years married for James &Johanna as 13 years, so c1898

A search for marriage under Johanna's name (the less common of the two surnames) on the BMD Index shows this possible marriage in Wexford registration district:

Name : Johanna M Gainfort
  Record Type: Marriage
  Quarter and Year: Jan-Mar 1898
  Registration District: Wexford
  Volume: 4 / Page: 563