Author Topic: Doune church, Macduff  (Read 6544 times)

Offline jmp

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Doune church, Macduff
« on: Saturday 27 April 13 23:30 BST (UK) »
Hi all,

I am helping a friend with their family tree but I am a novice at Scottish records. I have seen that there is an MI for Doune church ( on the ANESFHS site which I have just found) for the family of William Annand with wife Helen Houston Craib ( I have both death certificates).

Also listed is Sarah Riddoch who is Helen's mother and an unknown Sarah Annand who I reckon might be Williams sister although I havent found a baptism for her. William's parents also a William and Helen Piper do not appear to be buried with them.  Neither is Sarah Riddoch's husband John Craib. Possibly they died first and the family at that stage had not enough money for a headstone?

I gather that burial records are pretty sparse but can anyone tell me if it is likely that the ages of the people would be recorded on the MI. Im particularly interested in the two Sarah's as I havent been able to track down Sarah Riddoch at all apart from her marraige to John Craib in Alvah in 1792 and as I say I cant find any reference to a Sarah Annand.

Also being used to English records where "Houston" given as a middle name is likely to point towards a family name further back in time, does this follow in Scottish records? If so I cant find a link.

Finally, for genealogy purposes would you refer to the church as the "Parish Church" or as a "Kirk" and do the parishes churches have specific names e.g. St Marys, St Johns etc as if so Im having difficulties in finding what they are for specific places.

Many thanks all for any help you can give to what must be some pretty basic questions ;)

Jackie
Devon: Hortop, Phillips, Palmer, (Lamerton area)
Derbyshire: Hancock, Widdowson (Sheffield area)
Suffolk:Ratcliff ,Howlett, (Lowestoft area)
Kent:Ratcliff (Ramsgate area)
Norfolk: Stout, Fiske

Offline Forfarian